Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Very tasty. My wife and kids scarfed it up. Quick and easy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Loved it! I added 1/4 orange bell pepper, a handful of mushrooms, and used fresh basil and oregano. Every one seems seems to conquere on adding tomato paste. That probably would have made it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I don't understand why this recipe was rated so high. After making exactly as written, all I could taste was the basil and oregano. Added more sauce, sugar , and additional spices to make it edible. Family wasn't impressed at all, and my husband said it smelled funny. It was all the oregano and basil. Needless to say, this recipe won't be saved or used again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Added a little bit of red wine, and to top it off I used a little bit of Parmesan cheese! Super good sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Have made this twice already and love it. We have been adding a pound of hot deer sausage after the onions and garlic. I've also added 2 tablespoons of red wine with the meat and then 2 tablespoons of butter at the very end. The tomato paste idea is a also really good. Anyway, thanks so much for the recipe. Hooked on this:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was so simple and we liked the flavor on this. I cut this in half and used a can of stewed tomatoes instead of diced, a small can of tomato paste and 3 cans of water, and then ended up adding another can of tomato sauce (15 oz.) as this cooked down and I needed to stretch it out. I added a lb. of cooked seasoned ground beef at my husband's request. I let this simmer for 1.5 hours before serving. The next time I will add a pinch of cayenne pepper and double the sugar. Great starting point and good like it is, but this would be easy to add in favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Uh...guys, this is awful. 4 teaspoons each of basil and oregano? This was just thick chunky mush and the flavor will not leave my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I started making spaghetti in a hurry one evening before i realized that we had no sauce to go on it. I found this recipe and was pleasantly surprised that it was so flavorful. Since my husband needs meat, I added some cooked ground beef and mushrooms to the sauce. My picky kids devoured their spaghetti, and my husband couldn't say enough about it. I have to admit that it doesn't look at all like the spaghetti sauces that I'm used to or have made in the past. It looks like it will taste bland with the lack of tomato paste or sauce. My husband said that I should start making it all of the time instead of using the stuff in the jar. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Yum! This was exactly what I was looking for. I cut out processed foods awhile ago, and that means making old favorites from scratch. This is very simple and can be made from things I already had in the kitchen. And it's so easy to add to! I wanted to sneak in some more vegetables, so I added some zucchini and carrots. I also cut back on the spices--half of each was plenty for me. I pureed it to give it a smoother consistency. Paired with some pasta and turkey meatballs, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was very good. I made a few changes to use what I already had. I used one can italian stewed tomatoes and one can tomato sauce. I also used dried onions and one splenda packet. I was very good! I wanted something easy and it was very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super simple spaghetti sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States