Spaghetti Sauce with Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
i cant give the full 5stars because i changed it a little. i tried to review earlier but the stars wouldnt show up so im reviewing it again. this is an AWESOME dish. so simple, healthy and delicious! i only used 1can tomatoes and a little water. as is written, its too acidic for my taste. i also added 1teaspn sugar to the tomatoes which i add to ALL canned tomato dishes to offset the acid. i crumbled a veg oxo cube to give depth of flavor and to balance the sugar in the tomatoes. it was perfect. thankyou for a great new way to use cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
A great change to an old favorite. We aren't vegetarians, but loved this. I didn't have enough garlic, so I added thyme, oregano and red pepper flakes for flavour. Also added mushrooms and red peppers for more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
If you are expecting meat-tasting dish you will be disappointed, otherwise I simply LOVE this sauce, simple, easy and creative for cooking novices who wish to cook a pasta sauce with a twist. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I used this recipe as a base though only half of it. I used a California veggie mix, 1 large can of diced tomatoes and the remnants of a jar of basil pesto. I added meatballs to this and served over spaghetti. It's very runny so I mixed in 1/2 cup at least of Parm to help thicken and season, in addition to a couple of spices. Would be better to thicken with tomato paste, but I didn't have any. We liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was very difficult to rate. For creativity, definitely 5 stars. We all liked it and it is healthy too. But I don't think you can confuse it with a meat sauce. One reviewer suggested adding tomato paste and more seasoning. I would agree with that. Only giving 3 stars but maybe it should be 3.5 or 3.75. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
i belong to a veggie co-op and always get desperate at the end of the week to make room for the new pick-up. i tried this with a head of cauliflower, two giant fresh tomatoes diced a jar of pre-made spaghetti sauce and a cup of leftover homemade tomato soup, plus lots of garlic and italian seasoning. tasted great and will even better tomorrow! update: put my leftovers on a pizza crust with a little cheese -- love getting two meals in one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
We often have a vegetarian meal a few nights a week, and I wanted to do something different with my cauliflower. I will make this again-I did however use bought pasta sauce with Italian seasoning. I then tossed the sauce with cooked rigatoni pasta, transferred into a serving dish. I mixed a cup of shredded Italian blend cheese with 3/4 cup of sour cream, spread it over the top and grilled until brown and bubbling. A yummy hearty meal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Given the submitter's claims, I was expecting the cauliflower to add more interest and texture to this sauce than it actually did. Can you tell there is no ground beef? Absolutely! (but that's not much of a surprise). It IS a great idea as a budget stretcher and a very good way to get more veggies in. It was very bland but that is easily remedied and the texture of the sauce could easily be improved as well by using less crushed tomatoes and more diced tomatoes with tomato paste. I would make this recipe again with tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Photo by drella
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to make use of a head of cauliflower and found this. Incredibly simple and healthy. A great lighter sauce perfect for vegetarians. Per other peoples reviews I added more seasonings (dried basil, oregano, red pepper flakes and some locatelli cheese as I normally do to my meat sauce). I also used one can whole tomatos and two cans tomato sauce as I just like the viscosity of my sauces better this way, but I feel the only flaw of the sause is its overwhelming tomato taste, id maybe only use one can of paste next time. Finally I added sliced mushrooms, as I'm a mushroom nut. Highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Good basic recipe. I added some Italian Seasoning, and a bit of brown sugar. I made a baked Spaghetti dinner with Mozzarella Cheese on top. YUM! Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super simple spaghetti sauce.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States