Spaghetti Sauce Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is a nice and quick, dry spaghetti mix to have on hand. It works great for sending 'homemade' back to school with college kids. All they have to do is add meat, water and a can of tomato paste. It cooks up with a nice consistency. I served this over spaghetti squash. I like that the mix can be kept on hand for a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This has become a staple on my shelf. I can my own tomatoes and a scoop of this mix added to a quart of home-growns make sauce that is delicious AND quick. I've been asked for the recipe as well asked to alert people to when I was making spaghetti for dinner so they could show up. I have not ever tried to make sauce from paste and water so I can't speak to how it works with that but I imagine it would work fine. Here's a tip of my own, if your sauce is acidic or you are serving people with sensitive stomachs, add 1/2 tsp baking soda to the pot, watch the science experiment foam, then stir it back down and it will be smooth and mellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Fantastic base recipe - very easy to modify to your family's tastes. Like most reviewers, I used 1 tablespoon red pepper flakes instead of sweet pepper flakes (didn't have any), switched out the parsley flakes (eww) for about half the amount of dried basil and left out the sugar and salt (diet restrictions). Even with my changes, the base was spot on, especially the ratio of cornstarch to liquid. Key is to use an Italian seasoning blend you like and to watch your salt if you use a blend that is salty. I made a double batch (with half hamburger and half mushrooms). I recommend letting it sit for at least a few hours in the refrigerator to allow the flavors to meld. Better than any jarred sauce out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I ran out of spaghetti seasoning mix and decided to try this one. I didn't have "sweet" pepper flakes, so I used red pepper flakes instead. I would caution if you make this substitution, only use 1 Tbsp. at the most, as it adds a lot of spice! (luckily my husband likes a little spice) However, I really liked the flavor and fully intend to use this again... I may even try to find actual sweet pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Do not change anything. I havent bought sauce since I came across this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackbeltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
First time I ever tried making spaghetti sauce. Made it exactly as directed and it was flawless! This was so easy and tasted much better than canned or jarred spaghetti sauce. I am making it for dinner tomorrow night AGAIN! Everyone ate seconds of spaghetti. Grear recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Really convenient and flavorful. I added 1 tsp more salt and Italian seasoning but overall very good. This would make a great Christmas gift packaged in a jar with a basket filled with the seasoning, tomato paste, and uncooked spaghetti. I know I would appreciate a gift like that. Like someone said earlier, it's perfect for those evenings when you're short on time and energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie from Tx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This made the best spaghetti dinner ever. Rich and saucy with a very robust flavor. The best part ~ no puddle of tomato-y liquid pooling under the noodles. I made the recipe as written, but used slightly less water when it came to following the directions for making the sauce. This will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Awesome & great to have on hand for a quick spaghetti sauce mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIED61

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pewamo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Loved this simple recipe for something a little more home made than canned/jarred sauce, plus cheaper. I can customize it with as much or little spice as I want. I made my first batch as written above except all I had were red pepper flakes, not sweet pepper flakes.. FYI: I only used about half of what the recipe calls for in red pepper flakes.. it still made it a little more spicy than I'm used to so if you don't have sweet pepper and have to use red pepper, use only a small amount unless you really want it spicy! I also did not have minced onion so I added about maybe a tsp of onion powder and some Tastefully Simple brand Onion Onion. It didn't amount to 1/4 cup worth combined but I was afraid to make it too overpowering since Onion Onion can get strong if you use too much. It probably amounted to about 1/8cup total int hat region. I still used 1/4 cup of the final product to make the sauce and it turned out just fine! I'll tweak it around to my own liking a little more next time now that I know what the final product is like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States