Spaghetti Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is a great sauce, I did add my little changes though, I started by roasting my roma tomatoes and my fresh bulb of garlic with a drizzle of evoo. While that was going I started browning my ground beef and sweet italian sausage with my chopped onion and basil, italian seasoning, red peppers and seasoning salt. Then I cooked my fresh mushrooms in white wine until wine reduced by two teaspoons. When my tomatoes and garlic were ready, I put them in electric chopper with a little wine, basil, oregano, italian seasoning , tomatoe paste, and water. Then I added the tomatoe mixture to my meat that I had drained of fat. I added my mushrooms and fresh parsley and parm cheese. I let it simmer for 1 1/2 hrs stirring every 15min or so. Then I poured over my pasta Top my dish with a little jack and parma cheese and fresh black pepper and garlic seasoning blend. Made garlic cheese bread Then we threw down eating this one up!!!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This is a perfect recipe to use to get a general idea on how to make a spaghetti sauce. I used all the ingredients but measured according to my own taste which made it great! ADD sugar and salt. USE fresh garlic over garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Use 1/2 T. of each herb if you don't add ground beef. If you do add meat to the sauce use 1 T. otherwise the meat will overpower the sauce and it will be bland. I also added 1/2 red bell pepper chopped in food processor (gives it a sweetness so you don't need sugar) and 1/4 tsp. cayenne. I went with 1 head of garlic cloves instead of garlic powder. To me, this tasted like high end jarred sauce which is what my 3 young kids like, something simple (and I don't like Prego or Ragu). This is a recipe we'll add to our recipe book. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This, too, was my first time attempting spaghetti sauce without the jar. It was so quick, easy and tasty! I did take another reviewer's suggestion and doubled the tomato paste. I like a thicker sauce, more like Prego. I'm sure with just the 6 oz of paste it would give you more of a Ragu-like sauce. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Made this for a Church Group for a competition. Won first place. I substituted 1/2 pound of Shrimp and 1/2 pound of scallops for the beef. I sauteed the shrimp with the shells on in some olive oil to infuse the shrimp flavor, then took out to cool (later peeled the shrimp and put back into the sauce at the very end) and added the main ingredients to the leftover shrimp/oil to cook. Used fresh herbs and chopped garlic rather than the dry stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This is the best spaghetti sauce I have ever made;its sweet without having to add any sugar! I know it will be my new recipe and I am sure all will agree. Its easy, fast, and fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH BOOTHE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I'm giving this 3 stars. It was good, but I think the dried herbs were a little overpowering. If I made this again, I would probably reduce the herbs, especially the oregano, and add a couple tablespoons of sugar to mellow out the sauce. I also thought this was a little too meaty. I like meat sauce as much as the next gal, but this was just a little too much meat for the amount of sauce. I would cut the meat down to 1/2 lb. Overall, a decent sauce, but I think I will keep looking for something a little tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Outstanding recipe. I made some minor adjustments like adding fresh garlic and sweet sausage with the hamburger and I like thicker sauce so I added an additional can of paste. If you play with it and make minor changes you will find a great sauce to meet your needs. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Easy, tasty sauce. You can mess around with the spices to your liking, but this is a good basic recipe. I left out the mushrooms (hate 'em!),and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
My family raved about the sauce... wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States