Spaghetti Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Don't forget salt if you use unsalted can of tomatoes. Used fresh garlic. Recipe needs adjusting. Maybe I would try fresh herbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I used Jimmy Dean sausage and Petite small diced tomatoes, awesome! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I use this recipe as a base recipe. I add three cans of diced tomatoes, two fire roasted. I also add 2 T. sugar and a large squeeze (about 1T) of honey. In addition to the spices, I add black pepper, sea salt and about 1 T of Hungarian paprika. I omit the garlic powder for the garlic salt with parsley in it. I also add one red bell pepper and one green bell pepper in addition to one large red onion. My toddlers (and everyone else) LOVE this recipe!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Good base sauce that you can adjust flavors as you like... sausage, or hamburger, or ground turkey, or mushrooms, or zucchini... the flavor combos are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
My husband isn't Italian, but he always liked it when I made spaghetti with his mom's homemade sauce....until I lost her recipe. He pronounced this version very good. High praise indeed. It's by far the simplest recipe I've found that we like. The only thing I changed was to cut up the stewed tomatoes with kitchen shears...oh, and was out of dried basil so I used fresh from the garden. If you like your sauce meaty, as my hubby does, no other changes are recommended. I personally might add a bit more tomato paste. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was delicious and tasted very authentic. I added a red and yellow pepper when I was cooking the onion. I also added a shake of red pepper flakes and about 2 Tbsp of sugar to sweeten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I added a little sugar to sweeten this some. Otherwise pretty much followed the recipe except only used a 1/2 pound of beef. Nice, thick sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This was a pretty good recipe, but not fabulous, in my opinion. I made it exactly as written, using 93% ground beef. It came out fairly thick, which I like - watery spaghetti sauces are too common. It was nice, but it's hard to define what might make it a five-star recipe - maybe a little sugar in the mix, or a more robust mix of spices - I did find the seasonings not all that exciting, just average. But overall, I did enjoy it over cooked thin spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is a great recipe. I added some green peppers. Make sure to use garlic powder and not garlic salt...I didn't have reg. powder and used garlic salt and it was too salty so I added a bit of sugar. It was still good. I plan on using this recipe everytime I have spaghetti instead of store bought jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
My husband loved this & he is not a big pasta fan. Said it was much better than the jar sauce I usually buy. I made double the recipe and froze meal-sized portions in freezer Ziplock bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States