Spaghetti Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This was decent sauce, good homemade flavor, strong acidic tomato taste, but lacked a depth and richness. Not as mellow and smooth as I would have liked, maybe if I had added some sugar? I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed, fresh mushrooms instead of canned. My family liked this but I've had much better from here. This could be a good base recipe though. Thanks Angie, this was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This was really good! No changes except added a little sugar since we like our sauce a little sweet. I'll make again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Yummy and easy!! Made a few changes though. Added veggies: chopped carrots, celery, fresh mushrooms and zucchini. Also threw in 3 cut italian sausages. Used 1 can of diced tomatoes and 2 bottles of crushed tomatoes (the italian ones, in glass bottles). A touch of grated nutmeg and simmered for 2 hours. Yummy, everyone loved the recipe, it was excellent. I made a lasagna with the leftover sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This is a perfect recipe to use to get a general idea on how to make a spaghetti sauce. I used all the ingredients but measured according to my own taste which made it great! ADD sugar and salt. USE fresh garlic over garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is a great sauce, I did add my little changes though, I started by roasting my roma tomatoes and my fresh bulb of garlic with a drizzle of evoo. While that was going I started browning my ground beef and sweet italian sausage with my chopped onion and basil, italian seasoning, red peppers and seasoning salt. Then I cooked my fresh mushrooms in white wine until wine reduced by two teaspoons. When my tomatoes and garlic were ready, I put them in electric chopper with a little wine, basil, oregano, italian seasoning , tomatoe paste, and water. Then I added the tomatoe mixture to my meat that I had drained of fat. I added my mushrooms and fresh parsley and parm cheese. I let it simmer for 1 1/2 hrs stirring every 15min or so. Then I poured over my pasta Top my dish with a little jack and parma cheese and fresh black pepper and garlic seasoning blend. Made garlic cheese bread Then we threw down eating this one up!!!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I'm giving this 3 stars. It was good, but I think the dried herbs were a little overpowering. If I made this again, I would probably reduce the herbs, especially the oregano, and add a couple tablespoons of sugar to mellow out the sauce. I also thought this was a little too meaty. I like meat sauce as much as the next gal, but this was just a little too much meat for the amount of sauce. I would cut the meat down to 1/2 lb. Overall, a decent sauce, but I think I will keep looking for something a little tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I really enjoyed this sauce. I added an additional two minced cloves of garlic and a bit of sugar at the end, then topped if off with parmesan cheese. Mmmmmm. My picky husband however, not knowing I had made this from scratch, took a few bites and told me not to buy this brand of spaghetti sauce anymore. The only thing he disliked was that it was very thick, there was hardly any liquid to it. I will make this again but I may follow some other reviewers suggestion and add a second can of tomato paste with some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurencelle
Home Town: La Broquerie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: St. Adolphe, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Use 1/2 T. of each herb if you don't add ground beef. If you do add meat to the sauce use 1 T. otherwise the meat will overpower the sauce and it will be bland. I also added 1/2 red bell pepper chopped in food processor (gives it a sweetness so you don't need sugar) and 1/4 tsp. cayenne. I went with 1 head of garlic cloves instead of garlic powder. To me, this tasted like high end jarred sauce which is what my 3 young kids like, something simple (and I don't like Prego or Ragu). This is a recipe we'll add to our recipe book. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
My children (ages 3 & 1) loves this spaghetti sauce. It is the best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This sauce was simple and good. Even though it was lacking something, I will make this again because of its ease and simple good taste. Maybe the second run, I will experiment a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States