Spaghetti Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
As the daughter of a 100% Italian father, I am ashamed to admit that I have never been able to make spaghetti sauce from scratch. Thanks to you, Angie, that has now changed! I doubled the recipe except for the meat and used ground turkey instead of beef. I didn't have stewed tomatoes on hand, so I used petite diced tomatoes instead. I also used fresh crimini mushrooms, which I sauteed until they were soft, instead of the canned mushrooms. I added about 1 Tbs of salt for flavor (remember, I doubled the recipe) and about 1 tsp of white sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. The result was perfection! I'm only giving this four stars because it really did need the addition of the salt and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was a very quick and easy recipe and it tasted good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I love this sauce! Super easy, in fact not much harder than using a jar, and tastes MUCH better. Only modification I make is to use fresh mushrooms, I sautee them for a few minutes in some oil before adding to the sauce. I've also added black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This sauce makes it obvious that bottled sauce is just a racket. Less than 1 minute to prepare the sauce. Perfect with anything added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I don't know if it was the kind of stewed tomatoes I used but my sauce dried out when I was cooking it, I had to add some water later on to keep it from burning. Maybe next time I will use diced tomatoes instead, they tend to have more juice in the can than stewed. Overall this recipe was nice and simple, but back off on the herbs if you don't want it to be too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I was so excited about this sauce but it was a disappointment. Way too much dry ingredients for me but the hubby loved it so go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
GREAT! Just add and change whatever you want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is great! I did my spices to taste, and used fresh garlic. I also used fresh mushrooms, and I put some frozen spinach in with it all too. It was GREAT!! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Seriously, this sauce recipe is the best I've ever had, by far. I used Tblspn of fresh minced garlic, a Whole Red onion, and fresh thickly chopped small portabella mushrooms; way better tasting, unless you like canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States