Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Not overly impressed, but it was good, definately better then store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
made this for a party and everyone raved about it. Perfect sauce and I will make again. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I hate to leave negative reviews, but I did not like this sauce. It was very bitter and acidic. I had to add some salt, as it just wasn't flavorful. I won't make it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious and easy. I did add some red peppers, used ground beef, and since I don't use wine and didn't have any appropriate substitutions I used chicken broth instead of wine. The sauce was very good and a little too thick (probably because of 2 lbs of ground beef) that I added an extra 14 oz of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was amazing.....I had to make a few changes because I didn't expect the cans of whole tomatoes in my pantry to be 3 years past their expiration date, but I took some tips from another reviewer and then improvised from there. For the tomato products I used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes with Italian herbs, three 8 oz cans of tomato sauce (one 28 oz would have worked), and one 6oz can of tomato paste. I dislike tomato chunks, so the crushed tomatos worked out perfect for me. I sauteed the garlic and onions in the oil and tossed the 1/4 cup of wine (Shiraz) to reduce a bit. I had to run errands and didn't have time to babysit the stove, so I threw everything in a crock pot (except for the meat) and let it simmer for the two hours I was gone. When I came back, I sauteed a tsp of minced garlic, added 1lbs of ground pork to the sautee pan, and just to make the cooking experience divine, I added a cup of the sauce to the pork just as it started to brown. Subbing ground beef or ground turkey would be fine, I just have a lot of pork I need to use! When the pork was cooked through I added it to the crock pot and let it cook for another hour, stirring as needed. I had the crock pot on high with the lid off and a splatter screen on when I was home, on low and covered when I wasn't. If using the crock pot, give yourself a little extra time as the low setting takes longer to get the sauce up to temp than a stove does. Maybe consider preheating the tomato products in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Don't know what all the raves are about. I didn't find this any better than my usual $1 can of Hunts in which I add hamburger, onion, and other spices to. Won't make this again. It's not awful, but isn't stellar either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Our new go-to sauce! I only used one can of tomato paste and used one 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes and one 28 oz can of tomato sauce. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
So I tried my hand at this recipe and absolutely loved it! My family ate EVERYTHING. I didn't know which red wine to use so I just used Stella Rosa and used fresh basil and oregano, and halved the dry basil/oregano. Also used sea salt and a tad bit of peppercorn. I also used fire roasted tomatoes instead of peeled tomatoes and 1 (6oz) can of tomato sauce. For the meat, I used 96/4 ground beef and sauted it soy sauce, granulated garlic and onion, sea salt and pepper. Turned out prefect once you mix both! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! The only thing I changed was leaving out the red wine (none on hand) and adding some water about halfway through- I like thick sauce, but it was getting almost dry. Might have been a problem with the range's temperature rather than the amount of water in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
It was good,although it was a littleto spicy,next time I will not put that much red pepper in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States