Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Delicious recipe! I add tons of veggies (carrots, olives, yellow squash, mushrooms and anything else I might have on hand). I also sautee the veggies with a little bacon and or pepperoni for flaveor and leave out the meatballs for a tasty more weight watcher friendly version. I While I cut the recipe in half, it still provides way more servings than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
My family loves this sauce, followed directions except used diced tom. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I too made the following changes: I opted for lean ground beef instead of pork (just a personal perferance), I sauteed the onion til translucent, added the garlic, sauteed an additional minute, added the ground beef and browned until all pink was gone. I then placed all the other ingredients in the crock pot, along with the beef, onion and garlic and placed on slow 6 hour cook time and went about my day! We tossed with home made pasta noodles just before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walela

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This sauce was excellent. I doubled the garlic, cut up the whole tomatoes, added extra red pepper flakes and fresh black pepper, and added fresh parsley and sauteed mushrooms in butter. I omitted the sausage as I make my own meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Spaghetti Sauce II Haiku: "Pretty darn good sauce. Glad I added the sausage. I barely changed it." I only had 1 can of tom. paste, so I added tom. sauce, along w/ a handful of chopped bell pepper in addition to the onions. Smelled great simmering, and I tossed in the optional Italian sausage that I'd cut into bite-size pieces and browned. I like that this sauce clung to the noodles and wasn't watery. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Yum! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by braveleesy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very good sauce but it was too thick and it was going to burn. I had to add 1 can of 28 oz water. I also added 1 teaspoon of salt. Everything else is the same. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Next time leave out raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was an excellent sauce. I used authentic italian sausage from The Hill in St. Louis and added a Tbls of fennel seed, which is an exciting addition to spaghetti sauce. Also added half a bell pepper and a some fresh mushrooms. All I can say is, WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
As written, I'm not sure I would like this recipe, but I knew it had potential. Instead of Italian sausage, I opted for the healthier Italian-seasoned ground turkey. I crumbled and browned it with the onion and garlic and let it simmer in the sauce for a couple of hours. I also added 8 oz. sliced fresh mushrooms. I left out the sugar and used plenty of fresh ground black pepper instead of the red pepper flakes. I cut the amount of herbs in half. I like the thickness the sauce has with the addition of the tomato paste. It's a very hearty sauce and the splash of red wine is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States