Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This recipe garnered my first "sauce compliment" from my Italian husband. He ALWAYS makes our sauce...20 years and running...and it's amazing but he won't tell me his recipe! Not even his mom knows. However, for once, I wanted to attempt a sauce that he would give his stamp of approval and this one did. I used this along with the baked spaghetti recipe from this sight. It's a very hearty recipe with just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Way too much oregano for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I used hamburger instead of sausage....best sauce I've ever made! I also used some fresh herbs as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This sauce is awesome!!! It was so fun and easy. Brought back memories of cooking with my mother when I was young. I made a triple batch and froze it. Can't wait until it's gone so I can do it over again. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelamae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Manuel, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I really liked this recipe but did make some changes. I peeled and chopped up my own home-grown tomatoes instead of using canned whole tomatoes. I substituted 1 can of tomato paste for 1 can tomato sauce to keep the sauce from getting too thick. I used half the recommended sugar and omitted the red pepper flakes. The sauce really does have to simmer for at least 3 hours or else it will taste too "herbal" and have a bitter after-taste. My last change was to add some salt & pepper, and finally, the sauce was perfect! I love the dark, thick texture, and the well-rounded flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Yummy! I have never made such a delicious sauce. I didn't have the sausage, unfortunately, so I just threw in a bit of fennel, sage, paprika and cayenne to get the flavors that sausage would have added. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Pretty good...like other reviewers I found it a little bitter. Next time I will cut back on the herbs a bit. I added a bit of parmesan cheese, which was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Start out with a grocery prepared spaghetti sauce of your choice. In a separate microwave bowl put all your 'additions" in it onions fresh garlic powdered garlic crushed red pepper ground black pepper and microwave until it breaks down. Add it to the prepared sauce.. then put your cooked ground meat, prepared meat balls from grocery and sausage if you like into the microwave dish and cook on high five minutes at a time stirring and returning to micro until its just yummy.... You'll be glad you did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Konos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I been using this recipe since I found it here. I adjust it with brown sugar instead of white, I use crush and puree tomatoes and of course I double it to freeze some.. I use 1 lb containers (I freeze containers first for about 10 + minutes as this keeps sauce from staining containers). Other than that I go by this basic recipe, been thinking of new ideas to add but haven't try yet. Been told many times its the best sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and was very disappointed. We found the oregano flavor overpowering and thought the sauce was way too thick. We ended up having to add extra tomato sauce and water to thin it down. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States