Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Firstly, I sauteed the garlic (twice what the recipe called for) and onion and deglazed the pan with red wine. Then I added the remaining ingredients. I ended up adding 4 vine tomatoes (seeds scraped out) as well as 2 bell peppers, roughly chopped. The spice level was just right for us, but we like it on the spicier side (I added a heaping 1/4 tsp). I also added about 1/2 cup of water, since it seemed a touch chunky. After 3 hours of simmering I pulsed three-quarters of it in my blender to smooth it out. It ended up with a consistency similar to a thicker jar sauce. This is an excellent base recipe that you can easily adapt to suit your tastes. It's super easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This sauce was so good, I had to join this site so that I could rate it. My family loved it. I have never made sauce on my own before and this was the perfect one to start with. Next time I'll have to double the recipe so that we'll have enough for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Really good...I doubled the wine, and halfed the basil. I cooked in the slow cooker for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I have made this several times. It is incredibly good when simmered as directed. I cook bulk sausage meat and throw it into the mix for the last hour; other than that, skipping the sugar, and making sure to use San Marzano tomatoes, I follow the recipe. Wonderful. My siblings and I have been trying to find a sauce to replace the one our mother used to make and we couldn't get enough of. None of us can reproduce it anymore but this one will do nicely as the new "gold standard." To paraphrase some famous London Underground graffiti from the '60s, "Connery is God." :-) Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
My husband made this from video...great sauce/even better than his mom's! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe. I did substitute the whole tomatoes with dice and used 1 can of tomato sauce and only 1 can of paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camille
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Very good..will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Amazing authentic flavor...thick, sweet and spicy, great with or without meat. I usually add a tad more wine, garlic and red pepper flakes because we like a lot of flavor. You CANNOT MESS THIS UP...important for anyone nervous about making your own Sunday gravy. Just go for it...you can always tweak as you go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This recipe garnered my first "sauce compliment" from my Italian husband. He ALWAYS makes our sauce...20 years and running...and it's amazing but he won't tell me his recipe! Not even his mom knows. However, for once, I wanted to attempt a sauce that he would give his stamp of approval and this one did. I used this along with the baked spaghetti recipe from this sight. It's a very hearty recipe with just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Way too much oregano for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States