Spaghetti Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and it was too sweet to eat. It is a decent base recipe for sauce but with a 1/4 cup of sugar it was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
This was my first time cooking a full meal for my family, and it was a huge sucess. I was able to do something my mother and super-cheif aunt could'nt do, make a spaghetti sauce from scrach. All the high praises mean alot to a 20 year college guy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Nice recipe! My husband couldn't have enough of it. I didn't use butter, included 3 cloves of garlic in olive oil while cooking the beef, & added red peppers with the rest of the ingredients. Next time I won't use as much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eijsden, Limburg, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I like this recipe, but have adapted it from the original. I use 1/2 lb of lean ground beef and 1/2 lb of mild Italian sausage and the sausage really gives it an extra kick. My husband also doesn't like the full amount of sugar in the recipe, so I use less, maybe about 2-3 tbsp. It's my favorite way of making spaghetti sauce and is so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Good sauce, definitely sweet! I followed the recipe as written, the butter & sugar is what makes this stand out for sure. Nice change from the basic red sauce flavor, completely different taste. This would work well with sausage instead of ground beef also, which I will try next time. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
MY HUSBAND AND FAMILY LOVED THIS RECEIPE, CUT BACK ON THE SUGAR JUST A BIT. MAD AN ADDITIONAL BATCH AFTER DINNER AND FROZE, AS I WORK 10-12 HOURS A DAY MAKES FOR A QUICK MEAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bolivar, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I completely omitted the sugar in this recipe, if sugar wasn't listed I would have given this 5 stars. Most canned tomato sauces have sugar in them already, so it isn't needed, however if you're using crushed tomatoes, I think the sugar would be about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This is the best spaghetti sauce i ever made. Every time my dad and i are in charge of dinner, we make this! Once we had a friend who is also a restaurant owner at our house for dinner and he said that this was the best sauce he has tasted. He told us that he will start serving spaghetti sauce with sugar at his restuarants! Great Job! Thanx!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
I was in the midst of making dinner and realized I did not have a jar of spaghetti sauce. I saw that I did have a few cans of tomato sauce so I went to allrecipes.com to find a quick recipe for homemade sauce. I found this recipe. It was a great recipe for quick success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This sauce is so quick and easy! I almost always have these items in my pantry and it is far better than any jar sauce. I do change it a little bit now and then. I sometimes sautee the onions in olive oil and add cooked cubed chicken for a change. I also use rotini and cut the sugar back to 3 tablespoons. Sometimes use 1 can crushed tomatoes. It is delicious and adaptable to all sorts of tastes! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States