Spaghetti Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
MY HUSBAND AND FAMILY LOVED THIS RECEIPE, CUT BACK ON THE SUGAR JUST A BIT. MAD AN ADDITIONAL BATCH AFTER DINNER AND FROZE, AS I WORK 10-12 HOURS A DAY MAKES FOR A QUICK MEAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bolivar, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
A pinch of garlic powder? Are you kidding me? I added 3 big cloves of chopped garlic when I cooked the beef. Also used some italian sausage. Good easy recipe though. Not wild about the butter, didn't really add any flavor just fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I made enough of this sauce for 30 elementary kids, they loved it! (used about half of the sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This recipe was ok. I read the other reviews and fortunately cut back on the sugar. Even using 2 T. was too sweet for our taste. It's definitely a recipe that allows for creativity and because of that, I'll try it again. A had a can of mushrooms on hand that I added and that was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This sauce is so quick and easy! I almost always have these items in my pantry and it is far better than any jar sauce. I do change it a little bit now and then. I sometimes sautee the onions in olive oil and add cooked cubed chicken for a change. I also use rotini and cut the sugar back to 3 tablespoons. Sometimes use 1 can crushed tomatoes. It is delicious and adaptable to all sorts of tastes! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
I liked this recipe, it was a nice basic & then I added my own touches for my taste. I did not put all the sugar in, I put it in little by little till it was too my palates liking. Be creative with this basic recipe & have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
What a life saver this was! I promised the kids spaghetti and meatballs only to find that I had no sauce. I hopped on this site and found this fabulous recipe. I didn't have enough tomato sauce (only 24 oz) so I used a little tomato paste with water. I made the rest of it exactly as directed and am I pleased! I love the slight sweet taste. I don't think I'll buy expensive bottled sauce again. Thanks so much for submitting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was bland and BORING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
I sort of doubled this recipe. I used a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes plus a 15oz can of tomato sauce. I only used about a tablespoon of sugar (I was a little nervous about that part of the recipe). Oh, I added a can of sliced olives, but other than that I pretty much followed the recipe. I did use Penne Rigate instead of spaghetti as it holds the sauce so much better. Plus it's bite size! Oops...almost forgot, I sprinkled some italian cheese blend and freshly chopped flat leaf parsley over the top. My family gave this recipe a 5 thumbs up! My husband commented that it was the best spaghetti I'd ever made, and he already like my original out-of-a-jar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I like this recipe, but have adapted it from the original. I use 1/2 lb of lean ground beef and 1/2 lb of mild Italian sausage and the sausage really gives it an extra kick. My husband also doesn't like the full amount of sugar in the recipe, so I use less, maybe about 2-3 tbsp. It's my favorite way of making spaghetti sauce and is so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States