Spaghetti Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
My Grandmother has always kept her Spaghetti Sauce recipe a secret..... I do believe I just found the closest thing to it! Won't she be surprised the next time I invite her over for dinner. It isdifferent from the normal thought of spaghetti sauce, but its great! Added a bit more oregano and wouldn't add as much basil, just to make it more like my grandmothers. You will be picking oregano out of your teeth, but worth the flavor. Also added a bay leave for the heck of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Great recipe. For our liking we decided that next time we would cut the sugar in half. Just a smidge sweeter than we like it. Other than that it had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I have used this recipe countless times. My family and I love it. I do saute fresh garlic with the onion. You can customize to your own likes. That is the beauty of a recipe. If its to sweet cut the sugar amount in half!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Very good...however, DO NOT use sugar amount. I started with about 1 tsp and gradually added. Fast and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I've always bought spagetti sauce out of a jar,wanted to try something different. We loved it. But I did read some reviews on it & tried less sugar & it was perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made this recipe and my friends loved it!! The slight sweetness is different from your normal spaghetti sauce. I didn't add garlic powder because I didn't have it, and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MakamaeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Good sauce, definitely sweet! I followed the recipe as written, the butter & sugar is what makes this stand out for sure. Nice change from the basic red sauce flavor, completely different taste. This would work well with sausage instead of ground beef also, which I will try next time. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
way too much sugar. even with half of it (like I used).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I liked these sauce but my son didn't. I did reduce the sugar by half because I read some of the reviews. But it still came out a little sweet. But i didn't mind it. I will be making these sauce again for myself..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I completely omitted the sugar in this recipe, if sugar wasn't listed I would have given this 5 stars. Most canned tomato sauces have sugar in them already, so it isn't needed, however if you're using crushed tomatoes, I think the sugar would be about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States