Spaghetti Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
The absolute BEST spaghetti salad that I have ever had. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I had to make a pasta salad for a volleyball tournament. My Mom used to make a version of this when I was young so i searched out and found this recipe which was similar to what my Mom used to make. A couple of changes - for various reasons...I used 1 lb. of whole grain spaghetti, did not use any garlic powder (mine was all hard from condensation), and I did not add the paprika (didn't have any) nor did I use sesame or poppy seeds. Next time I make this I will try all of these items in the salad because I think it will add more texture and flavor to the salad. The version my Mom used to make was much more simple and plain but was wonderful too. With that said - the version I made was a big hit with adults and teens alike. I used green onions (matter of preference over red onions) and I used more parmesan to taste (great with more in my opinion). I also used a bit more salad supreme (didn't use seasoning salt) I did NOT use the whole bottle of salad dressing and I'm glad I didn't because I think it would have been too liquidy and create soupy pasta - which I didn't want. I made this the night before as we had to be up and out of the house by 5:00am - and it was fine. I think this salad would be fabulous as is and did not intend to make all these changes - it just happened that way. Thanks for the awesome recipe - it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Yum! I used colored rotini b/c it is prettier, but everyone seemed to enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I substituted linquine for the spaghetti, omitted the poppy seeds (didn't have any) and used only 2/3 bottle of Italian salad dressing because the salad would have been drowning in dressing if I'd used the full amount. Even so, we didn't care for this salad. It was a very pretty salad, but we felt the flavor of the cayenne pepper overwhelmed the other flavors and not in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Like others I didn't add the sesame and poppy seeds but I did cut a block of mozzarella cheese into cubes and shaved parmesam cheese instead of grated. 1 whole bottle of dressing is not necessary. It wasn't a "WOW" dish but it is delicious and refreshing. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dookie007
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Wonderful! My husband hates broccoli normally but loves italian dressing -- but this dish even had him wanting seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Fugrim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I loved this dish. There's not much to it, which is a positive for me. I used whole wheat pasta, organic italian dressing, and tons of veggies. I feel so healthy and it's so tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opera Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was a really great recipe. I did not use spaghetti, I used Cavatappi pasta instead, as I think long noodles and oil dressing is a recipe for a stained shirt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was great. I get a lot of compliments when I make this. Next time I might add some zucchini.My fave dressing is Wishbone Italian. I omitted the red onion as I just don't like them but I added a little vidalia onion, finely choppped. Our local grocery store makes a really good spaghetti salad and this is very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hope, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I love pasta salads and this is very good but I thought a pound of pasta was too much. I used a half pound of linguine instead. Everything blended beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States