Spaghetti Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
sauteed onions and garlic instead of mushrooms. added hamburger meat to cheese mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was great for something different! Instead of egg beaters, I just used one beaten egg. For the middle layer, I subbed the sour cream for 1/4 cup of low fat cottage cheese and upped the low fat cream cheese to 4 oz., and creamed this all together with about 1/4 cup of the hot pasta water so it would be a good spreadable consistency. I omitted mushrooms, green peppers and butter; and instead used two turkey italian sausage links sauteed with onion, garlic, chopped frozen spinach, spices and the recommended pasta sauce. I topped with italian cheese blend and turkey pepperoni, so it would look like it did in the picture. The calories came out to 355 per serving using these modifications. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Tasted very good and we will probably make this again. The crust was a little hard on the sides so the next time we make this we will skip pulling it up the sides of the pan. It was a little more cheesy than I would have liked it to be but the day afterwards it was DELICIOUS!!! Thanks for a great recipe. Oh and we added spinach and left out the mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Great recipe! I did add sausage and/or hamburger to sauce; substituted cottage cheese for cream cheese; and used real egg. The cottage cheese is the best even versus ricotta. It melts and gets really creamy. Lends great flavor also. I use cottage cheese in my lasagna also versus ricotta. MY WHOLE FAMILY LIKES IT THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
great..everyone loved it. Used whole wheat pasta, otherwise made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Recipe was nice change from the norm lasagna spaghetti pizza like meals. I used a portion of the cheese blend and blended 2cups spinach as a spinach pesto. Added as a bottom layer and did the rest as stated. I didn't use mushroom but I did sauté onion and garlic and put it in the pesto. It was really good and a great way to sneak in nutrition for kiddos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gary Stew
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I skipped the green pepper and mushrooms, Add a meat sauce, hot Italian sausage, and pepperoni. This is a fantastic recipe. Now my totally favorite food. Super Yummy. I call it Spagizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I have been making what our family calls "spaghetti pie" for 22 years ....I got the recipe from a friend whose family had been making it for years :). It is a delicious dish and very easy to make and alter. My recipe is a little different than this. I use sauteed onions mixed with only sour cream or cottage cheese as the filling and we top with our favorite sauce (home made or canned) with 1/2 lb of hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is a great way to make spashetti night different. I did not use the reduced fat cream cheese and sour cream used the regular because that's what I had. I also did not have egg substitute, I used 2 eggs and a tiny bit of heavy cream and this seemed to give the eggs the consistancy of egg beaters. I let the spaghetti cool like one reviewer suggested and then mixed in the eggs and parm. If you put the eggs in when spaghetti is hot the eggs will begin to cook. I pressed the spaghetti into the pan and decided to use spaghetti sauce I already had made in the freezer. The sauce had ground beef, mushrooms and some bacon in it (sort of like a goulash) poured that on top of the spaghetti. (I think you have to have meat in this dish). Baked it for about 45 min until it was hot then topped with the mozz. cheese. It came out great, and like I already said this was a nice change to regular spaghetti. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Hay all, this is something we Italians have been making for a millennia. you don't have to bake this;you can fry it over the stove in much smaller batches. We would cook these overnight and take them with us on long trips. you can add any kind of meat in the mix before cooking. my favorite has always been salami and prosciutto, with mozzarella black pepper and parmesan cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States