Spaghetti Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This is one of my favorite recipes from this site - here's how I make it: Cut the pasta amount in half and use rigatoni or penne as this heavy sauce needs a sturdier base than spaghetti. Omit the green onions and throw some minced garlic, freshly ground black pepper and diced onion in with the ground beef. Stir the cheese mixture into the cooked noodles and place in the bottom of the baking dish. Top with the sauce. Cover and bake for 20 minutes, uncover and top with the cheese. Bake for about 10 minutes more or until the cheese is bubbly. This makes a ton of seriously yummy comfort food. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This is the only way I make spaghetti...ever! My favorite part is the cream cheese/sour cream mixture. Update: I have made this many, many times and have finally perfected this wonderful recipe; I use 1.5 jars of sauce, I mix my cooked noodles with butter and lots of parmesan before putting in the pan, and finally I added about 1/2 cup of ricotta to the cream cheese/sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Yummy, yummy, yummy! I buttered the spaghetti a bit before layering in the pan and I used a jar of Newman's Sausage and Peppers sauce along with 1/2 a jar of Ragu- it could have used more sauce so I would use two whole jars next time. I also combined some ricotta cheese with the cream cheese mixture. We all loved it! I might skip the cheddar cheese next time and replace it with mozzerella. You could also scale down the pasta a bit if you don't have a full pound and it would work fine...the pound of spaghetti really filled the pyrex. This will be something I make at least once a month- it makes a ton and I always appreciate left overs so I don't have to cook every day. Thanks for sharing a great pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERSEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I can't wait for lunch to have the leftovers!!! What a delicious hearty meal; so easy and so wonderful! I omitted both the green peppers and green onions and used Bertolli Organic Tomato Basil Sauce--YUM~O! I sautéed half a sweet onion in butter until translucent in the same pan browned up quality lean ground beef, seasoned to taste. Tossed thin spaghetti noodles w/ butter and parmesan cheese as suggested by Khristin (no dry noodles like others). Added 1/2 cup of low-fat ricotta cheese and substituted a combo of cheddar/jack and mozzarella for the cheddar cheese. After dinner I couldn’t stop eating little bites from the casserole dish. Will be making this again soon! Thanks for an awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My husband and I are giving this 4 stars. It was amazing...but the noodles making up the bottom layer really dried up when it went into the oven. We followed the recipe to heart, but for future attempts, we suggest mixing the meat and noodles together so it dosen't dry up as bad, adding the sour cream/chive/cream cheese on the top and then the cheese. We will do this again!! One of my personal favorites omitting the dry noodles. Thank you! Crystal T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Thank you for this recipe. I made it today for my husband who was coming home for a day from trucking. He raved and raved. But as usual I used it as a skeleton and changed the following... 1. I didn't measure out the sour cream and cream cheese exactly. I just blended a medium container of SC and 8 oz of CC. Much easier! 2. I used the 1 lb of spaghettie and added some broken pieces of lassagna I had. 3. I used 1 lb ground chuck AND 1 lb. roll of sage flavored sausage. I fried it together throwing in the green pepper and 4 cloves of garlic. I also used lots of spices to heat it up like cumin, oregano, garlic salt, seasoned pepper, pepper corn ? (like used at pizza hut to sprinkle on) and minced onion. 4. I bought 8 oz mozzarella and 8 oz sharp chedder and used all but 2 oz from each. It was delicious!! Since I baked it in a 14x11 pan, there were leftovers of the noodles and meatsauce. There was no extra sour adn cream cheese. I added the noodles to the sauce and froze for spaghetti later. I bagged and froze the leftover pie too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eviee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This is a good recipe, but I tweak it a bit. I make my own sauce, and instead of spreading the cream cheese and sour cream over the spaghetti, I mix it in with the noodles. I've also found that mozzarella cheese is preferred by my family. But it's a good base recipe to work from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This was a lot of trouble for spaghetti topped with melted cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This was tasty! And fairly easy, too, although there were more dishes to wash than I like. I omitted the green pepper (personal preference), reduced the spaghetti to approx. 3/4 lb, and increased sauce by about another 1/4 jar. I like very saucy noodles, and found that ratio to be perfect. I loved the sour cream and cream cheese. In the future, I may take a few short cuts and use prepared meat sauce (rather than browning meat and simmering) and chive cream cheese (rather than cutting green onions). Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was a really good recipe! I did tweak it just a little though. I mixed in some melted butter (about 1/4 cup), 1 egg, and some paremesean cheese into the noodles before putting them in the pan. I also used the full 8oz pkg of cream chz instead of the 4oz it called for. I did not have any green onions, so I mixed in some italian seasoning with my crm chz and sour cream. Sooooo good! My hubby & kids raved about this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Basic Baked Spaghetti

See how to make a simple weeknight favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States