Spaghetti Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was an "OK" recipe. Kids weren't crazy about it, nor was I. I found it to be bland, no one in the house cares for chopped tomato, so I used a tomato sauce as well as the tomato paste. I added a can of mushrooms as well. I likely won't make this again,or if I do, I'll have to doctor up the "crust" That was that part we found least flavourful. Thanks for the recipe anyway, I am trying to find new things to make for the family, and this was one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
It was alright. A little dry. Not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
LEAVE OUT THE CHOPPED TOMATOES FOR DAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
My husband heard I was making spaghetti pie and thought it sounded horrible. When he tasted it, he had 3 servings!!! It was wonderful! What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Something is just not right about this recipe. I must agree with a previous reviewer, there is a very bitter taste to the noodle mixture. Not sure what it is, could be the Parmesan cheese. This recipe is also very, very dry. I won't make this recipe again, but will use it as an "idea" of how to make spaghetti pie in the future. I made it exactly as written, but it just was not very tasty. But I appreciate your post Kimberly and thank you for letting me try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I have made this recipe for years (an old Betty Crocker card recipe collection in the 70's) and it was always a family favorite, especially with the kids. I always bumped up the spices too, and have substituted the cottage cheese for ricotta instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SADS
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was probably closer to a 3 1/2 for me, but I rounded up. I did take some of the reviewer suggestions, and used canned sauce (Paul Newman's Socakrooni) instead of making it myself, and ricotta cheese instead of cottage. My main problem was that the beef was very bland, although I did like the remainder of the dish. However, with the leftovers I felt as though there was a bitter taste to the noodle crust part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
very tasty, although i did change a few things as per others i added ricotta instead of cottage cheese and while cooking meat i added green pepppers onions and whole garlic also uses ragu sauce as that is all i had and i added imported provolone to the top with a little garlic and herb feta cheese it was very tasty and i will defintely be making this again! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is pretty good. I added sliced zuchini to the meat mixture, as well as fresh garlic and onions. I also used skim-ricotta, fresh mozzarella, light sour cream and light cream cheese, along with some italian seasonings to make the filling. I might make this again, but I think we prefer a saucier pasta, and I will probably stick with my baked ziti...It was a good change from regular spaghetti though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I had to change alot in this recipe due to my kitchen not being fully stocked and it came out so yummy. I didn't have any parmesean cheese, so I used mozerella in my pasta and on top, I am a vegetarian so I cut the meat out, and used mushrooms, zuchinni, and green pepper instead. I also didn't have any ricotta, or cottage cheese in my fridge so I cut that out as well. So I layered pasta sauce, garlic infused veggie mix, more sauce, then more cheese. It was really good. My whole family enjoyed it. I am sure it's better with added ricotta, but it's defitely not a must. Thanks for a great recipe, I will defintely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States