Spaghetti Italian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Not a bad sauce. It is very acidic if you follow the recipe exactly. I doubled the recipe to 12 servings, and followed it exactly except for one thing - I used roughly half the amount of tomato sauce. A total of 32 ounces and no more. This alleviates the acidity of the sauce significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This is so delicious! I made a couple changes. I used sweet italian turkey sausage, 1/2 tsp italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp basil and 1/2 tsp oregano and added some dried crushed red pepper. My husband loved it too. Will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I made it by the directions and it is just alittle bit to much acid for my stomach. I really didnt like it. It looked great and it didnt smell bad but just didnt like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Everyone loves this recipe. I use it exactly as shown, but use the italian diced tomatoes with spices. I also use a crock pot and cook for 4 - 6 hours and it turns out absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I followed this recipe to the tee and still found it to be too acidic for my taste. I'll try to add some vinegar next time to contrast the acidity
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was okay, but not the wonderful sause I was expecting. The more I try to add to it to fix it, the worse it becomes. I tried adding fresh basil, brown sugar, garlic powder, parsley....it just isn't very good. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very good restaurant quality spaghetti sauce! I used no salt added tomatoes and 32 oz of tomato sauce (4 8 oz cans) and did not add additional salt. Served over spaghetti instead of mixing it in. I simmered the sauce for a couple of hours and the recipe made 5 cups of sauce. This is now my go to spaghetti sauce recipe! I think next time I'll add in some mushrooms (just because we love them, it is perfect as is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Delicious! This was a huge hit with my family. I followed the recipe exactly except I used a whole pound of sausage since that was what the package was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We made this spaghetti recipe today and it was absolutely delish! We did change a few things, we used a whole pound of sausage and a pound of ground turkey. I also added a 1/2 tsp of garlic salt. It made about 7 servings. Next time I'll probably add some mushrooms. I saw several people who said that it didn't make enough sauce. I didn't let mine simmer all day, (really only about 25 min or so) and it made a generous amount. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
My family loved, loved, loved this recipe!!! I made a few changes I decide to go with 1 lb of sausage we are meat lovers. I also added liquid basil at the end instead of dried. Which was perfect! I let it simmer for an 1hr 30min. The cans of tomatoes were italian flavored. The tomato sauce was Newmans Own tomato and basil sauce. *Important* DO NOT ADD SALT! THIS RECIPE ENDS UP VERY SALTY ON ITS OWN. I think next time I cook this I will add sugar like others have mentioned they did. This recipe is going in our family box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States