Spaghetti Italian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I made this for a friends suprise birthday party & it was a hit!!! Everyone was raving at how amazing it was. A few people including the birthday boy even asked for the recipe commenting that it was the best spaghetti they'd ever eaten & they'll never eat sauce from the jar again...I have to admit, this is the best spaghetti recipe I'd ever tasted too. This will definitely be a regular meal from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrianne84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I stumbled on this receipe when I was looking for an alternative to SauceInAJar. I needed some tomato based pasta sauce to go over the chicken parm bundles, so I didn't add the spicy italian sausage, though I threw in some roasted red pepper flakes and a splash of EVOO to compensate. I also forgot to add the bay leaves - I think that they would have been the cherry on top to this recipe. My husband kept saying "this sauce is really good!" throughout the meal and I don't think I'll ever be "allowed" to buy premade sauce again. As another reviewer commented, it smells and tastes like "real" sauce. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenBaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is my new favorite spaghetti sauce recipe! It's hearty and delicious! I had to make two changes to the recipe based on what I had on hand. I used ground beef instead of the sausage and substituted 1 quart of canned tomatoes for 2 of the cans of tomato sauce and the can of diced tomatoes. I will be making this recipe again and again! Marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Spaghetti Italian Haiku: "Better than a 'jar', but didn't make quite enough. Needs some more sausage." The only changes that I made was using fresh garlic, basil and oregano, rather than dried, and I halved the recipe for 3 of us, serving the sauce over our spaghetti, rather than mixing all together, and there wasn't quite enough. Definitely smelled wonderful, but if I made it again, I'd increase the sausage, and if I let it simmer longer (to thicken), I'd consider a splash of red wine and possibly some sugar to cut the tomato acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Not a bad sauce. It is very acidic if you follow the recipe exactly. I doubled the recipe to 12 servings, and followed it exactly except for one thing - I used roughly half the amount of tomato sauce. A total of 32 ounces and no more. This alleviates the acidity of the sauce significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This is so delicious! I made a couple changes. I used sweet italian turkey sausage, 1/2 tsp italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp basil and 1/2 tsp oregano and added some dried crushed red pepper. My husband loved it too. Will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I made it by the directions and it is just alittle bit to much acid for my stomach. I really didnt like it. It looked great and it didnt smell bad but just didnt like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Everyone loves this recipe. I use it exactly as shown, but use the italian diced tomatoes with spices. I also use a crock pot and cook for 4 - 6 hours and it turns out absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I followed this recipe to the tee and still found it to be too acidic for my taste. I'll try to add some vinegar next time to contrast the acidity
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was okay, but not the wonderful sause I was expecting. The more I try to add to it to fix it, the worse it becomes. I tried adding fresh basil, brown sugar, garlic powder, parsley....it just isn't very good. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States