Spaghetti Italian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Esther
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
the sauce was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Wow, this recipe is amazing. I found it better than restaurant quality! Only one thing I changed was using minced beef, instead of Italian sausage, and adding finely cut red onion. Although the original yield probably serves about 4, I find that I can't help but eat about 1.5 servings so probably better to increase the amounts :) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
this recipe is easy and it tastes great! I made it for my in-laws and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Delish! I made some alterations based on other reviews. I sauteed some chopped onion in olive oil in the sauce pot because I'm an onion lover. I think it added some nice flavor to the sauce. I didn't add any salt as others as suggested, and used reduced sodium tomato sauce. I added some sugar toward the end because it still tasted slightly acidic. I also added some red pepper flakes to the sauce because I used sweet Italian sausage and wanted some kick to it -- which it def did! I let it simmer for 2 hours and it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmyp24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
First time making speghetti sauce. WONDERFUL! I used rigatoni pasta. DELICIOUS. Will be a weekly staple in my household. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
The smell may have been even better than the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Awesome recipe! I followed it almost exactly, except that I used 1lb of mild italian sausage to which I added diced onions and sliced portabella mushrooms while browning. To the sauce, I skipped the extra salt because of reviews that the sauce is already pretty salty, and added three cloves of fresh garlic and about a teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I simmered for about three hours. It was so yummy. Next time I will use a one to one ratio of tomato sauce and diced tomatoes - I like my sauce more chunky and this was just a little runny for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Very good! I don't like sweet sauces, so this was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Hearty, esay and quick recipe. Gave it 4 stars because the original sauce was a bit too acidic for my taste. I simply added 1 tbsp sugar and the problem was solved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This recipe is THE best! I had a similar experience as the last person who commented...my boyfriend walked in the door and said he could smell the sauce from outside our home and that it smelled fanstastic. I stayed completely true to the recipe except for a couple of things-which were only due to personal preference. I used 1 lb of ground beef instead of sausage and added half of a chopped white onion while seasoning beef. Also added 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes that gave the sauce a small zing. We LOVED it and both agreed this recipe will be a staple in our home. Thank you so much for submitting this :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly DFW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States