Spaghetti Carbonara II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I didn't use the dry white wine....and this was the first time I'd attempted carbonara...and I'd venture to say that this rivals that of any restaurant! This was delish! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor Price

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
heavy, but that's what carbonara is, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Just went to Rome earlier this month and tried this. I loved it so much, so when I came home, I just had to find a recipe. There are quite a few recipes out there, so I looked at the ingredient list and picked a few that sounded most like what I had. I decided to give this one a try because the directions sounded easy. I thought it tasted exactly what I had in Rome. I didn't use wine or onions because I don't like either. It tasted amazing! If you're feeding a family, this amount would probably be enough, but for just 2 people, halve the recipe. Also, if you're making the full amount, I would get a bigger frying pan. I'm using a standard size, and it was difficult tossing the spaghetti (over and over and over- your arm definitely gets a workout) without making a mess. May have to invest in a larger skillet just to make this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
changes to suit my taste: I used half the onion and twice the bacon.I had the dryness issue that the other posters had, but having read the other reveiws...adding a little pasta water helped. And like the other posters I also found that this amount of sauce was right for half the amount of spaghetti. When all said and done it was "pretty good" but still missing a little something to put it over the top. I tried adding a little oregano. THEN it was perfect! Also like the other posters....I found I liked the sauce better when the egg was mixed with the cheese first. I also added a coupl TB for cream to it. That way the sauce comes out creamy instead of like scrambled eggs. My family still ate the first scrambled egg version happily....but I like the texture of the sauce better the second way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
"Muy deliciouso!" as the Spaniards would say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davebruhl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This was a good recipe. However, I like a little more bacon in my carbonara sauce and (just) slightly less onion and white wine. The wine and onion was a little strong and overpowered the bacon's flavor and taste. Although, this did not take away from the recipe as a whole. I have made numerous Carbonara recipes and the ingredients with this particular recipe were much better than most others. I would suggest this recipes to friends and family. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very nice pasta, and easy too! I've never made carbonara, but I have had it in restaurants and liked it. I thought I'd try this since I had leftover spaghetti and wine and am glad I did. I just made one serving--good thing, too, as I gobbled it down. I used a white zinfandel that worked just fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eldeeder
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
All we did to change it was oven roast a chicken breast, slice it up and add it to the mix. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I love this recipe. I agree with some of the reviews. The recipe asks for a lot of noodles. Either add more bacon or less pasta. I usually have some garlic bread along with this dish. I highly recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessAngie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Used regular bacon, would definitely be good with pancetta. Husband loved it and said it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 1,107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States