Spaghetti Carbonara II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by jbuehler
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This recipe is so easy to make and spot on, portion wise. I did combine the parmesan with the eggs and also warmed up the eggs in lukewarm water before whisking together and pouring over the spaghetti. My husband loved it and it is now part of my menu! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I've never had Spaghetti Carbonar before but I love bacon, onions, garlic, eggs and parmesan so I thought I would try it. It was delicious! The eggs and cheese make the sauce so creamy and rich. Not to mention the smokiness of thebacon- so good! I didn't change anything on the recipe since there were so few ingedients I made sure to use high quality ingredients and i think that made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Decent for a quick meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
B+ recipe. I didn't use the wine because I was making it for the family. It was a little dry-maybe I could have added more olive oil but I like to keep it on the healthier side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chum Nguyen Struve

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Only four stars as is because there was too much pasta and the sauce was a little gluey. Personally, I'd reduce the pasta by about a third AND make sure to keep aside at least a cup (maybe cup and a half) of the cooking liquid to add. Also, juice of half a lemon really helps. Overall, though, it's a really nice base that just needed some tweaks for our personal preferences. Easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Thanks for this fabulous recipe! I had some prosciutto that needed to be used up and, although I may never make it using this again, it was lovely. I also added some leftover ricotta cheese to the eggs and a tablespoon of pesto (made with 1/4 parsley)instead of the fresh parsley. What started out as a good way to use up ingredients ended up being a gourmet meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inkinannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was a sensational recipe- it tasted better than the spaghetti carbonara I've ordered from italian restaurants. I followed some of the reviewers' suggestions by adding the beaten egg when the pasta has cooled slightly (pan no longer on the fire) so that the eggs dont cook. Will cook again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Wonderful recipe; delicious! 4 stars only because of a few seemingly necessary modifications. Like others, I added the parm to the egg then folded into the pasta OFF THE HEAT! If pasta seems dry, gently adding in some of the pasta water is a good idea. It's great without, but adding in some frozen petite green peas is quite nice. Be sure pasta is quite al dente befor adding all else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Not bad but both my husband and I found it a little dry. Next time I think I'd try it the way reviewer "Mystonique" suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
When a friend first made spaghetti carbonara for me and showed me how to do it, he said "one problem: if the eggs don't cook onto the pasta, you're left with a sloppy mess". And the one time I tried it, it failed and certainly uncooked eggs are NOT lovely or creamy. Yes, you do know when it fails. Well, with the above method, you'll know if the eggs don't cook and can turn the dish right into a 'bacon and egg pasta' dish instead. With that thought in mind, I followed the technique and portions as per above, and IT TURNED OUT PERFECTLY. The eggs coated onto the pasta, creamy and lovely, as well as the cheese. I've done this a second time now, using rice noodles instead of pasta, and that works well too. I love the fact that this recipe is adaptable, I will probably try pancetta next time instead of bacon, but "as is" it is a fantastic recipe and my husband loved it - both times! Sandy Tr. (not the same person who submitted the recipe) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States