Spaghetti Carbonara II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I first ate spaghetti carbonara at a small little hole in the wall, called Bella's in Frankfurt, Germany in the early 80's, it was amazing, but I would tweak this recipe, to more resemble Bella's. try omitting the wine, instead use 1 cup of heavy cream, and use a nice lean ham instead of the bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I made this recipe to the last ingredient. There was to much pasta and not enought sause!! However, this will be a work in process. The way it is now, it's very bland. It needs more parmesan cheese !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellTell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I loved this! Very tasty. Husband thought it did not have enough sauce but I thought it was fantastic. The flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
YUM!!! Absolutely the best! The only things I did differently were to use penne instead of spaghetti and instead of taking the bacon out, I waited until it was just about crispy, drained the grease and then added the onion and garlic to cook while finishing the bacon. Oh, and I did put the cheese in with the eggs. Gorgeous carbonara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This was just "ok". Needs more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Great last-minute-dinner-guests dish! With the possible exception of the white wine (which is optional anyway), the rest of the ingredients are things most average cooks have on hand. With garden salad or steamed broccoli as a side, you can't lose! BTW, sauteed zucchini tastes great in this! As suggested by another reviewer, mix the parmesan with the beaten eggs before adding to the hot noodles and do NOT cook. The hot noodles will cook the egg enough and will give it a creamy texture thereby omitting the need to add cream as others have suggested. If you cook it after adding the parmesan and egg, it curdles and looks like scrambled eggs and noodles. A flourless chocolate cake would make a great fianale to this fantastic meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was my first attempt at Carbonara and I don't think this is a dish I can make at home. Better left to the pros, in my case. The texture was unappealing for my taste, even though I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Great way to stretch a dollar. I eyeballed everything and added some sauteed sliced chicken breast and 1 inch blanched asparagus pieces (thrown in with the pasta for the last 20 seconds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NASA Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
What a fantastic Carbonara recipe! I think this may be the first time my 7 & 9 year old kids have ever asked for a second helping! :) Great balance - not too dry, not to gooey. I personally prefer prosciutto to bacon, and I didn't add the parsley (simply because I didn't have any on hand), but I don't think either alteration causes a very noticeable difference. Thank you so much for posting this wonderful recipe - can't wait to repeat!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Brilliant recipe! Save some of the pasta water to mix back in after the eggs to keep the pasta from being a tad on the dry side. Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States