Spaghetti Carbonara II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Needed something really quick for just myself tonight and though I didn't have any bacon on hand this carbonara has some excellent flavor! I took advice of previous reviewer and mixed the parm in with the beaten egg before adding to noodles, also added a splash or two of white wine (Chardonnay). Will make again when DH is home, including the bacon! Thanks for a great tasting and quick dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I too, mixed my eggs with the parmesan cheese and added some fresh cracked pepper and pinches of sea salt, nutmeg, and basil. I'd run out of parmesan, so I also tossed in another 1/4 c of an Italian 5-cheese blend, which included smoked provolone. If it weren't for the smoky taste the cheese provided, I would've rated this dish much lower since I found the final outcome rather bland. My husband, who is the true pasta fanatic in the house, LOVED this, hence the compromised 4-star rating. I was a little nervous tossing raw eggs over the pasta since I was also serving this to my 4 year-old, so I set the entire pan back over low heat as I was tossing the pasta, so I wouldn't scramble the eggs. I added in some steamed green peas to my plate (hubby hates peas) and used turkey bacon. Not a keeper in my book, but I'd make it again if the hubby requests it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe is great and never gets old. I have made it quite a few times now with only minor modifications. Actually, I haven’t really modified it at all, just changed a technique. I used thick cut bacon then I just cut most of the fat of the bacon away. I cook the bacon fat until I have a decent amount of grease in the pan, remove the fat and feed it to the dog, then I cook the bacon meat in the bacon grease. This method requires 2-3 additional pieces of bacon. I just don't really like bacon fat, so that is why I do this. I recommend this recipe to everyone, it is that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
To my and my wife's taste the recipe is missing 1 cup of heavy whipping cream blended with the eggs. then it becomes absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enrique Salas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Killer Carrot
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Absolutely Wonderful delicacy... My family raves about this and they are food critics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Carlisle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairview, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I cooked this about 20 minutes ago. Me and the man are on our second plate. Followed the recipe to the t. Definitely will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massena, New York, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
The first time I made this recipe I found the parmasean a little overpowering. Tonight when I made it I adjusted it to 1/3 of a cup and didn't add any extra when serving it...this was sooooo good, a great recipe that will be a regular in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Everyone loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was really just ok for us. There was just the two of us so I only used a 1/2 pound of spaghetti and used half an onion. I also followed other reviews and mixed the cheese in with the eggs before adding it to the pasta. I added 2 more cloves of garlic and some Italian seasoning. It really felt like it was missing something. I don't plan on keeping this in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States