Spaghetti Carbonara II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Great last-minute-dinner-guests dish! With the possible exception of the white wine (which is optional anyway), the rest of the ingredients are things most average cooks have on hand. With garden salad or steamed broccoli as a side, you can't lose! BTW, sauteed zucchini tastes great in this! As suggested by another reviewer, mix the parmesan with the beaten eggs before adding to the hot noodles and do NOT cook. The hot noodles will cook the egg enough and will give it a creamy texture thereby omitting the need to add cream as others have suggested. If you cook it after adding the parmesan and egg, it curdles and looks like scrambled eggs and noodles. A flourless chocolate cake would make a great fianale to this fantastic meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was my first attempt at Carbonara and I don't think this is a dish I can make at home. Better left to the pros, in my case. The texture was unappealing for my taste, even though I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Great way to stretch a dollar. I eyeballed everything and added some sauteed sliced chicken breast and 1 inch blanched asparagus pieces (thrown in with the pasta for the last 20 seconds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NASA Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
What a fantastic Carbonara recipe! I think this may be the first time my 7 & 9 year old kids have ever asked for a second helping! :) Great balance - not too dry, not to gooey. I personally prefer prosciutto to bacon, and I didn't add the parsley (simply because I didn't have any on hand), but I don't think either alteration causes a very noticeable difference. Thank you so much for posting this wonderful recipe - can't wait to repeat!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Brilliant recipe! Save some of the pasta water to mix back in after the eggs to keep the pasta from being a tad on the dry side. Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This was phenomenal. I had no idea what to make for the first time that my in-laws came over for dinner (my husband and I are into more gourmet/exotic/creative recipes, my in-laws are very much meat and potatoes) so I thought I'd give this recipe a shot and pray that it worked out. Thankfully, it did. This recipe passed with flying colors! I took the suggestion of other reviewers and combined the parmesan with the eggs and added them after the pasta had cooled slightly, and it was fantastic. This was so much easier to make than I could have anticipated, I don't know why I'd never made it before but I will be making it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Joy Burkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Halved the recipe, but used 5 slices of bacon instead of 4 (Is there such a thing as too much bacon?), and 2 cloves of garlic. Added a pinch of dried oregano, basil and thyme. Did not use the wine. Adults and kids gave it a thumbs us. This is incredibly creamy and filling, and easier to make that I thought it would be. Will be making this again many times over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vine Grove, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Perfect - Loved this - just mixed the cheese and eggs together before adding them to the pasta as some reviewers had recommended, as my only change. LOVED this recipe - easy- and everyone even my picky son enjoyed this - everyone was in agreement that this was a "make again recipe"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I've cooked this several times, sometimes changing things a bit; other times , making as is. Tonight I added one tomato, artichoke hearts, and used vermouth since I didn't have white wine. I usually beat the eggs, then add light cream with parmesan and other Italian cheeses. Mix well, and stir into the bacon mixture- stirring quick,quick, quick and then dump it into the pasta and stir until creamy. Thanks sooo much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I have cooked this 5 times since I first tried this recipe a few weeks ago. So simple to make and really delicious. This is one of those recipes that matches restaurant quality food with an authentic Italian taste. And, to the recipe writer - thanks for such clear directions and tips. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,067) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States