Spaghetti Carbonara II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
We thought the flavor of the onions and garlic and bacon all sauteed together was the best part of this. Next time I would like to try it with the white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Good basic recipe, but can be a little dry if re-heated. Added peas to my pasta and did not add extra salt (bacon has enough already). Followed recommendations & added 3/4 cup Parmesan to eggs & blended well before adding to slightly cooled pasta. Not sure it needs the olive oil, but it is a quick & easy meal good for busy week nights...Thanks Sabrinatee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Decent, easy version of pasta carbonara. This is one of those dishes that is heavily influenced by the quality of the ingredients used. I used pancetta (about double what the recipe called for) and Parmigiano-Reggiano, and added a little cream at the same time as the eggs and cheese. We usually eat light, healthy fare, so this was something different for us. All things in moderation...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Update: Used Dawns Quick and Easy Alfredo sauce over this leftover carbonara from last night and it brought a 3 star dish to a 4.5 star.//////////////////////////It was okay and good...we never have eaten carbonara before....I had no issues of not having enough sauce........It is extremely filling, a half of serving is all my hubby and I could eat so we have tons left over. Does this freeze well? We both agreed it would be better as a side dish to grilled steak and a green veggie and maybe not as a meal. I give recipes 5 stars if I want to go get the ingredients immediately to make again; 4 stars if I am told to put this in menu rotation; So, I give it 3 stars since no one wanted seconds but ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I thought this was just ok. None of my three kids liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I first ate spaghetti carbonara at a small little hole in the wall, called Bella's in Frankfurt, Germany in the early 80's, it was amazing, but I would tweak this recipe, to more resemble Bella's. try omitting the wine, instead use 1 cup of heavy cream, and use a nice lean ham instead of the bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I made this recipe to the last ingredient. There was to much pasta and not enought sause!! However, this will be a work in process. The way it is now, it's very bland. It needs more parmesan cheese !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellTell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I loved this! Very tasty. Husband thought it did not have enough sauce but I thought it was fantastic. The flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
YUM!!! Absolutely the best! The only things I did differently were to use penne instead of spaghetti and instead of taking the bacon out, I waited until it was just about crispy, drained the grease and then added the onion and garlic to cook while finishing the bacon. Oh, and I did put the cheese in with the eggs. Gorgeous carbonara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This was just "ok". Needs more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hawley, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,067) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States