Spaghetti Carbonara II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
It's another keeper! I have been trying recipes from this website for over a year. I describe them to my hubby and he is always skeptical. Then I make the dish and he tells me it's a keeper. He even takes pictures of the dish and sends it to his brother telling him that he HAS to try it. Once again, we were not disappointed with this dish. This was my first time making a carbonara and it turned out perfectly. My husband is not a fan of parmesan and after being given a taste of the pasta in the kitchen, I caught him loading more onto his plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Needed something really quick for just myself tonight and though I didn't have any bacon on hand this carbonara has some excellent flavor! I took advice of previous reviewer and mixed the parm in with the beaten egg before adding to noodles, also added a splash or two of white wine (Chardonnay). Will make again when DH is home, including the bacon! Thanks for a great tasting and quick dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I too, mixed my eggs with the parmesan cheese and added some fresh cracked pepper and pinches of sea salt, nutmeg, and basil. I'd run out of parmesan, so I also tossed in another 1/4 c of an Italian 5-cheese blend, which included smoked provolone. If it weren't for the smoky taste the cheese provided, I would've rated this dish much lower since I found the final outcome rather bland. My husband, who is the true pasta fanatic in the house, LOVED this, hence the compromised 4-star rating. I was a little nervous tossing raw eggs over the pasta since I was also serving this to my 4 year-old, so I set the entire pan back over low heat as I was tossing the pasta, so I wouldn't scramble the eggs. I added in some steamed green peas to my plate (hubby hates peas) and used turkey bacon. Not a keeper in my book, but I'd make it again if the hubby requests it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe is great and never gets old. I have made it quite a few times now with only minor modifications. Actually, I haven’t really modified it at all, just changed a technique. I used thick cut bacon then I just cut most of the fat of the bacon away. I cook the bacon fat until I have a decent amount of grease in the pan, remove the fat and feed it to the dog, then I cook the bacon meat in the bacon grease. This method requires 2-3 additional pieces of bacon. I just don't really like bacon fat, so that is why I do this. I recommend this recipe to everyone, it is that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
To my and my wife's taste the recipe is missing 1 cup of heavy whipping cream blended with the eggs. then it becomes absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chiquito de la Nevada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Killer Carrot
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Absolutely Wonderful delicacy... My family raves about this and they are food critics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Carlisle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairview, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I cooked this about 20 minutes ago. Me and the man are on our second plate. Followed the recipe to the t. Definitely will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massena, New York, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
The first time I made this recipe I found the parmasean a little overpowering. Tonight when I made it I adjusted it to 1/3 of a cup and didn't add any extra when serving it...this was sooooo good, a great recipe that will be a regular in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Everyone loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,063) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States