Spaghetti Carbonara I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
a small onion and 2 cloves of garlic are needed to improve this dish. also a little red pepper flakes improve this dish.most people add Alfredo sauce, which is not authentic Italian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Ok never been to Italy, but my grandmothers 100% Italian and she loved it she said its not the same but still very good. and any recipe with bacon is going to be high in fat. Its bacon!? Hello? My kids, hubby and grandma loved it.. wont make it all the time but it will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I took the advice of other reviewers and cooked the eggs with the spaghetti. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
this isn't carbonara at all. the point of carbonara is to cook the eggs with the residual heat of the pasta. It may be good but should not be called Carbonara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
QUICK, EASY AND MMMM MMM GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Very bland. Needs something... garlic? pepper?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Hubby loved it. This is now a new family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is very close the the recipe used at my favorite restaurant. Tip: cut down on the bacon, add a chopped lean cappicola, red, green, yellow pepers, onion, and garlic. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
That is a huge amount of bacon for six servings, I'd cut it in half. Also, the eggs are tossed with the hot pasta to cook, not scrambled into little lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I used "Italy - the Beautiful Cookbook" & I think the secret for creamy sauce is as given there:- After cooking the pasta RESERVE 1/2cup OF THE LIQUID. Having cooked the pancetta or bacon & a chopped red chili pepper, mix Pecorino cheese & eggs (it uses just yolks, I use whole eggs) into the reserved cooking water, add a little salt & PLENTY of pepper; tip the browned bacon (with the fat) over the past, then add the egg mixture & toos well. Add parmesan & serve. Delicious. D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States