Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
My son came home from football camp and LOVED this recipe! The meatballs were very tender. I substituted lean ground turkey breast for the ground pork to lower the fat content - other than that I followed the recipe to the T. The sauce is great as is but I imagine you could add other veggies such as peppers, mushrooms, etc, to your taste. Leftover meatballs will be used tomorrow for meatball grinders! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
AWESOME! Really, really good! kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I usually think that opening a can of spaghetti sauce is much easier and equal in taste to that of homemade, I was so very wrong. I followed the recipe completely only adding two more cloves of garlic. The meatballs were fantastic, my 8 and 5 year old boys, loved the meat which is an amazing feat! I made a double batch and froze half, even if it is half as good as it was fresh it is well worth the time spent to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This is the best recipe for meatballs. I dont eat pork so I left that out. I didnt measure anything and put a little hot pepper flakes in to make it a bit spicy. The meatballs didnt even fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Good. USed 2# meat and added extra of everything....USed diced tomatoes cause all we had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was probably the absolute best spaghetti and meatball recipe I've ever tried...I mean, I was reading the other reviews and I wasn't so sure, but I was impressed. The only thing I did differently: I added a cup of water every hour. It got a little thick for my liking at about that rate. Outside of that; PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
My whole family loved this recipe & it was very easy - by far, the best spaghetti & meatballs I've ever had! I have extremely picky kids & they even asked for seconds which NEVER happens! Next time I will simmer covered - as written it comes out extremely thick. I might try adding mushrooms or bell peppers every now & then to change it up a bit but they are totally not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was so yummy. I have made it a number of times now. I have played around with the spices for my taste. It is always a hit!!!! YUMMMMM-O!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
The meatballs are the best part of this recipe! This is something I will definitely make again! They are tender and yummy and the pork sausage/ground beef combo made for an amazing taste. I made this again but used bread crumbs instead of crackers. I used Italian Bread Crumbs and it adds a bit in the way of flavor and makes these yummy meatballs even more yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Luzerne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
As is, this is a good recipe, but i always add tons of veggies in the beginning of any spaghetti I make, from scratch or not. I added about a large carrots worth of finely chopped carrot, a HUGE onion (diced), 2 stalks of diced celery, and a heaping tablespoon of minced garlic. Sauteed all until the onions were translucent then nestled a bay leaf into the mix before sprinkling on half a tbsp of marjoram and a half tbsp of oregano. Instead of the tomato puree, i used two 15 ounce cans of diced roasted tomatoes, one 10 oz can of tomato sauce, and one 8 oz can of tomato paste (these items were what i had on hand and i really could not be bothered going to the store). Simmered sauce alone for about 2 hours, then made up the meatballs, sans pork. The only complaint I have is that the meatballs were extremely mushy when assembly time came, probably because I didn't add in the pork. Next time I will only use three eggs. The problem was totally on me. Either way, after simmering the meat and sauce together for another 2-3 hours, everything came together in one of the most harmonious bowls of spaghetti I've ever made, and I'm normally NOT a fan of meatballs. Thank you for posting this recipe; it will def be my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States