Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
My son came home from football camp and LOVED this recipe! The meatballs were very tender. I substituted lean ground turkey breast for the ground pork to lower the fat content - other than that I followed the recipe to the T. The sauce is great as is but I imagine you could add other veggies such as peppers, mushrooms, etc, to your taste. Leftover meatballs will be used tomorrow for meatball grinders! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
My whole family loved this recipe & it was very easy - by far, the best spaghetti & meatballs I've ever had! I have extremely picky kids & they even asked for seconds which NEVER happens! Next time I will simmer covered - as written it comes out extremely thick. I might try adding mushrooms or bell peppers every now & then to change it up a bit but they are totally not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was so yummy. I have made it a number of times now. I have played around with the spices for my taste. It is always a hit!!!! YUMMMMM-O!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
As is, this is a good recipe, but i always add tons of veggies in the beginning of any spaghetti I make, from scratch or not. I added about a large carrots worth of finely chopped carrot, a HUGE onion (diced), 2 stalks of diced celery, and a heaping tablespoon of minced garlic. Sauteed all until the onions were translucent then nestled a bay leaf into the mix before sprinkling on half a tbsp of marjoram and a half tbsp of oregano. Instead of the tomato puree, i used two 15 ounce cans of diced roasted tomatoes, one 10 oz can of tomato sauce, and one 8 oz can of tomato paste (these items were what i had on hand and i really could not be bothered going to the store). Simmered sauce alone for about 2 hours, then made up the meatballs, sans pork. The only complaint I have is that the meatballs were extremely mushy when assembly time came, probably because I didn't add in the pork. Next time I will only use three eggs. The problem was totally on me. Either way, after simmering the meat and sauce together for another 2-3 hours, everything came together in one of the most harmonious bowls of spaghetti I've ever made, and I'm normally NOT a fan of meatballs. Thank you for posting this recipe; it will def be my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
The meatballs are the best part of this recipe! This is something I will definitely make again! They are tender and yummy and the pork sausage/ground beef combo made for an amazing taste. I made this again but used bread crumbs instead of crackers. I used Italian Bread Crumbs and it adds a bit in the way of flavor and makes these yummy meatballs even more yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Luzerne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I usually think that opening a can of spaghetti sauce is much easier and equal in taste to that of homemade, I was so very wrong. I followed the recipe completely only adding two more cloves of garlic. The meatballs were fantastic, my 8 and 5 year old boys, loved the meat which is an amazing feat! I made a double batch and froze half, even if it is half as good as it was fresh it is well worth the time spent to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Good. USed 2# meat and added extra of everything....USed diced tomatoes cause all we had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This is the best recipe for meatballs. I dont eat pork so I left that out. I didnt measure anything and put a little hot pepper flakes in to make it a bit spicy. The meatballs didnt even fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was probably the absolute best spaghetti and meatball recipe I've ever tried...I mean, I was reading the other reviews and I wasn't so sure, but I was impressed. The only thing I did differently: I added a cup of water every hour. It got a little thick for my liking at about that rate. Outside of that; PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
AWESOME! Really, really good! kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States