Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I usually think that opening a can of spaghetti sauce is much easier and equal in taste to that of homemade, I was so very wrong. I followed the recipe completely only adding two more cloves of garlic. The meatballs were fantastic, my 8 and 5 year old boys, loved the meat which is an amazing feat! I made a double batch and froze half, even if it is half as good as it was fresh it is well worth the time spent to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I really like this recipe. The only altering I did was add a can of diced tomatoes to add a bit of texture. I also added about 1/2 cup red wine that I had on hand. My whole family loved it, and the leftovers the next night were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
All I have to say is that this was the best Spaghetti and Meatballs I have every had in my life. I will never buy a jar of spaghetti sauce again. I made mine in my slow cooker and is was awesome. The only thing I changed was the ground pork. I used ground turkey instead and it was awesome! Be sure to take the time and brown the outside of the meat balls. It keeps them so moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This is the best recipe for meatballs. I dont eat pork so I left that out. I didnt measure anything and put a little hot pepper flakes in to make it a bit spicy. The meatballs didnt even fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This sauce, and the meatballs, fell flat. I'm still looking for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Really good. I used cans of diced tomatoes. Browned the meatballs in a skillet, then baked them until done. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This recipe was wonderful! I didn't have any saltines so substituted fresh breadcrumbs. The meatballs were very tender and the sauce was rich and delicious. All 4 of my children gave it the thumbs up. I'd certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stamford, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
The sauce was the texture of a pizza sauce. It was okay, but the family doesn't want it fixed again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
As is, this is a good recipe, but i always add tons of veggies in the beginning of any spaghetti I make, from scratch or not. I added about a large carrots worth of finely chopped carrot, a HUGE onion (diced), 2 stalks of diced celery, and a heaping tablespoon of minced garlic. Sauteed all until the onions were translucent then nestled a bay leaf into the mix before sprinkling on half a tbsp of marjoram and a half tbsp of oregano. Instead of the tomato puree, i used two 15 ounce cans of diced roasted tomatoes, one 10 oz can of tomato sauce, and one 8 oz can of tomato paste (these items were what i had on hand and i really could not be bothered going to the store). Simmered sauce alone for about 2 hours, then made up the meatballs, sans pork. The only complaint I have is that the meatballs were extremely mushy when assembly time came, probably because I didn't add in the pork. Next time I will only use three eggs. The problem was totally on me. Either way, after simmering the meat and sauce together for another 2-3 hours, everything came together in one of the most harmonious bowls of spaghetti I've ever made, and I'm normally NOT a fan of meatballs. Thank you for posting this recipe; it will def be my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
My whole family loved this recipe & it was very easy - by far, the best spaghetti & meatballs I've ever had! I have extremely picky kids & they even asked for seconds which NEVER happens! Next time I will simmer covered - as written it comes out extremely thick. I might try adding mushrooms or bell peppers every now & then to change it up a bit but they are totally not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States