Spaghetti ala Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I wanted a spaghetti sauce that had some pizzaz and not the same traditional flavor and this is it! Easy to prepare and the wine gave it a unique flavor. Sure to be a hit with your guests! The memory stays with you long after the meal is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Yum =) I use hot Italian sausage, diced tomatoes with garlic, oregano and basil, cream instead of milk, and I add about 2-3 crushed cloves of garlic while it simmers as well as approx 1 1/2 tsp of dried basil, few good cracks of fresh ground pepper and a roasted red pepper for a sweet little zing! To cut down on the "soupiness" that others had complained about I drain my meat really well after it has all been browned and I make sure that the cream really reduces before adding the wine and that the wine (only use 1/2 cup) really reduces before adding the tomatoes. I think this really helps as my sauce always turns out thick and hearty! I have been searching now for a good 2 or 3 years and have finally found my go-to spaghetti sauce recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambikins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
i don't usually leave reviews, but this one was AWESOME! i added some frozed peppers (red green & yellow), fresh sliced portabello mushrooms, and one more can of diced tomatoes. Over whole wheat pasta spirals and fresh baked bread (from the store, i didn't bake it myself) this was WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I changed a few items in this recipe - I used turkey sausage and a red drinking wine instead of the cooking wine. While everything was simmering, I decided to add italian seasoning, garlic powder, and a small can of tomato sauce. After the extra additions, this recipe was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This recipe was GREAT!!! My husband and I both loved the wonderful taste, my husband is very picky and usually I hear "it's ok" but this time he told me he loved it. I didnt change the recipe too much all I added was portebello mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
The Sauce was a hit with everyone but I found it to be too mild and a tad bit too soupy. In my Opinion, the 28 oz can of Tomatoes was a little too much. I think next time I will throw in some more sausage and more Seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nürnberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Delicious, used Spanish Choritzo sausage, Italian flavoured canned tomatoes and pizza sauce instead off tomatoe paste and Italian table wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Very easy to make, and it was a hit with my family. I did add some fresh basil while simmering, and lots of fresh chopped garlic.....Very nice, and sticks to the pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVIS_PRESLEY_99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This sauce was a little mild, thus I added some spices to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This is a really good spaghetti sauce recipe. I included sautéed mushrooms and used precooked Turkey meatballs rather than the meat that was recommended. Not much more difficult than how I used to make spaghetti from a jar sauce, but 10 times better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States