Spaghetti ala Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Good meaty sauce with more complexity of taste than your typical meat sauce. Ease of preparation is also a plus. I used 1/2 cup of milk, and 1/2 cup of cream - it was not soupy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ufa, Bashkortostan Republic, Russia
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I gave this a five it was fantastic! My family has told me that if they see a can of an spaghetti sauce in the house they will throw it away. Recipe is deffinitly a keeper. I did not have tomato paste so I substituted with tomato juice and some ketchup. The secret to this recipe is to cook it on low for a good 1 1/2 hours to 2 hours. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrdsGrl
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I have been using this recipe as my staple spaghetti recipe for a year now. I am suprised that there are not more reviews for this. I also noticed that it is hard to find in the search unless you scroll through the 100s of spaghetti recipes. The only thing i change is to use fresh basil, rosemary, parsley, fennel, and garlic and to simmer for one hour. If you make this a day ahead, it makes for a better sauce! Thanks so much for my favorite spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrdsGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good. Eliminated the milk, increased the wine to 1 cup. Added 1 tsp. oregano, 2 tsp. basil. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was delicious! I am not usually a fan of spaghetti but the sauce was so thick and flavorful I couldn't stop eating it. I left out the stewed tomatoes because I don't care for them and I added about a half cup of water and doubled the tomato paste. Turned out beautifully. This will definitely be a repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainbowchip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Yum =) I use hot Italian sausage, diced tomatoes with garlic, oregano and basil, cream instead of milk, and I add about 2-3 crushed cloves of garlic while it simmers as well as approx 1 1/2 tsp of dried basil, few good cracks of fresh ground pepper and a roasted red pepper for a sweet little zing! To cut down on the "soupiness" that others had complained about I drain my meat really well after it has all been browned and I make sure that the cream really reduces before adding the wine and that the wine (only use 1/2 cup) really reduces before adding the tomatoes. I think this really helps as my sauce always turns out thick and hearty! I have been searching now for a good 2 or 3 years and have finally found my go-to spaghetti sauce recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambikins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I thought this was really good - when I ate the leftovers. Fresh off the stove it seemed really salty, but this meal freezes really well so it's great for work lunches. Really yummy! I love the combination of sausage and beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Vitcusky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
hubby thought it needed a spice--daughter LOVED it (after picking out the tomato chunks)...and the mom? i simmered this for hours to soften up the tomato...maybe i just don't LIKE bolognese. this was a first time effort for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
The Sauce was a hit with everyone but I found it to be too mild and a tad bit too soupy. In my Opinion, the 28 oz can of Tomatoes was a little too much. I think next time I will throw in some more sausage and more Seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nürnberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States