Spaghetti ala Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I wanted a spaghetti sauce that had some pizzaz and not the same traditional flavor and this is it! Easy to prepare and the wine gave it a unique flavor. Sure to be a hit with your guests! The memory stays with you long after the meal is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Yum =) I use hot Italian sausage, diced tomatoes with garlic, oregano and basil, cream instead of milk, and I add about 2-3 crushed cloves of garlic while it simmers as well as approx 1 1/2 tsp of dried basil, few good cracks of fresh ground pepper and a roasted red pepper for a sweet little zing! To cut down on the "soupiness" that others had complained about I drain my meat really well after it has all been browned and I make sure that the cream really reduces before adding the wine and that the wine (only use 1/2 cup) really reduces before adding the tomatoes. I think this really helps as my sauce always turns out thick and hearty! I have been searching now for a good 2 or 3 years and have finally found my go-to spaghetti sauce recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambikins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
i don't usually leave reviews, but this one was AWESOME! i added some frozed peppers (red green & yellow), fresh sliced portabello mushrooms, and one more can of diced tomatoes. Over whole wheat pasta spirals and fresh baked bread (from the store, i didn't bake it myself) this was WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I changed a few items in this recipe - I used turkey sausage and a red drinking wine instead of the cooking wine. While everything was simmering, I decided to add italian seasoning, garlic powder, and a small can of tomato sauce. After the extra additions, this recipe was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This recipe was GREAT!!! My husband and I both loved the wonderful taste, my husband is very picky and usually I hear "it's ok" but this time he told me he loved it. I didnt change the recipe too much all I added was portebello mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
The Sauce was a hit with everyone but I found it to be too mild and a tad bit too soupy. In my Opinion, the 28 oz can of Tomatoes was a little too much. I think next time I will throw in some more sausage and more Seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nürnberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Delicious, used Spanish Choritzo sausage, Italian flavoured canned tomatoes and pizza sauce instead off tomatoe paste and Italian table wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Very easy to make, and it was a hit with my family. I did add some fresh basil while simmering, and lots of fresh chopped garlic.....Very nice, and sticks to the pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVIS_PRESLEY_99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This sauce was a little mild, thus I added some spices to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This is a really good spaghetti sauce recipe. I included sautéed mushrooms and used precooked Turkey meatballs rather than the meat that was recommended. Not much more difficult than how I used to make spaghetti from a jar sauce, but 10 times better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States