Spag Bol Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This sauce has become a favorite for my family! I like to cook the onion,celery,garlic & peppers down in olive oil, & then blend them in the food processer to lessen the chunks. We like it meaty & add hot italian sausages for more flavor. This recipe always gets positive reviews from guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNELYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
this is a good recipe, but needs to be made a day or two ahead of time to allow the flavors to reach their peak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Thought I'd try a new bolognese sauce and this just doesn't compare to my recipe. I give it 3* for ease, but to add a *wow* flavor, try this. After saute veggies, mix in veal/beef/pork (1/2 pound each). Add wine & stir until almost evaporated. You need the wine because red wine releases the last bit of sweetness in the tomato. Then add 1/2C whole milk & stir until evaporated. Next, tomato, etc. and simmer away. If you have a parmesan rind, toss this in when simmering. Always better the next day, but also great in lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
My God ... it happens to be the nicest tasting spagetti bol I have ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Made this on a whim, and my husband raved about it (and he's hard to please). He said it tasted just italian chili....which I had never heard of, but he's Italian, so he should know. He even took it to work to let a guy (who is a great cook) try it, and he raved about it also. Didn't change a thing, except a little less onion as I didn't have enough on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was a great thick sauce. It was very simple to make and had a great meat flavor. If you are looking for a thick meat sauce then you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I gave this recipes to my husband to make for dinner last night. The main reason wanted him to try it was because of others saying their picky husbands even liked it. He made it and said it was easy, and he said he loved it!!! He also told me to rate it 5 stars and say that yes even picky husbands love it! I printed the recipe for 4 people but next time I will have him made the full recipe and freeze half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Very, very good. Nothing like what you would get out of a jar. This is a very meaty dish. Once my pasta was cooked "Al Dante", I drained it and put it back in the pot over high heat. I tossed it with 1/2 cup of the sauce to coat it and tore some fresh basil leaves into it. I then cooked it for about 30 seconds to get it nice and coated. The over-all effect was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I was a bit skeptical of the amount of onions and liquid, but I decided to trust the others who had given this a 5*...I made it exact to the recipe and it was wonderful!! Nice and fresh, and will no doubt improve if left overnight. We served it with a bold red wine - will definitley make this one again as it was fairly easy to prepare and the results were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe is easy and sooo good! I made it exactly as directed, except I didn't have any red bell pepper, so I added mushrooms, which are my personal fave. I used a chianti that was lying around for the wine. The flavor was wonderful. So much better than opening a jar! I agree that this sauce ends up being mostly "meat" and less saucy...for me, this was exactly what I have been craving but unable to find in a jar. Do not settle for less, make this sauce! Its worth the little extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States