Spag Bol Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Every bolognese sauce I've tasted had some sauce to it - this was just chunks of meat and veggies. Needs salt - I added 1/2t to the pan and needed more once plated. I'll add a jar of spaghetti sauce and some mushrooms to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Based on reviews, I had high expectations. It was just ok. I think a good spaghetti sauce out of a jar is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Thought I'd try a new bolognese sauce and this just doesn't compare to my recipe. I give it 3* for ease, but to add a *wow* flavor, try this. After saute veggies, mix in veal/beef/pork (1/2 pound each). Add wine & stir until almost evaporated. You need the wine because red wine releases the last bit of sweetness in the tomato. Then add 1/2C whole milk & stir until evaporated. Next, tomato, etc. and simmer away. If you have a parmesan rind, toss this in when simmering. Always better the next day, but also great in lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Very good. I only used 1 pound of ground beef after reading how "meaty" the sauce was. I used basil instead of bay leaves, since that's what I had. Sea salt instead of italian seasonings and it was so good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I was a bit skeptical of the amount of onions and liquid, but I decided to trust the others who had given this a 5*...I made it exact to the recipe and it was wonderful!! Nice and fresh, and will no doubt improve if left overnight. We served it with a bold red wine - will definitley make this one again as it was fairly easy to prepare and the results were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was a great thick sauce. It was very simple to make and had a great meat flavor. If you are looking for a thick meat sauce then you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This sauce has become a favorite for my family! I like to cook the onion,celery,garlic & peppers down in olive oil, & then blend them in the food processer to lessen the chunks. We like it meaty & add hot italian sausages for more flavor. This recipe always gets positive reviews from guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNELYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This was good and reminds me of what my mother would make when I was a child. My husband and I enjoyed it though my kids thought there was too much meat and wanted jarred sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I didn't know what to expect from this since i've never made a bolognese sauce. I was a little leary of all the onions... but went ahead with it and it turned out great. Was curious about all the onions and did a little research and it seems to me that that many onions isn't the norm for this variety of sauce, so if you aren't crazy about onions, you could probably cut back, on the other hand, it is a great variation and what makes this a special recipe. A similar recipe on this website called for 7 carrots! Now that i just wouldn't do... but someone else thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe is easy and sooo good! I made it exactly as directed, except I didn't have any red bell pepper, so I added mushrooms, which are my personal fave. I used a chianti that was lying around for the wine. The flavor was wonderful. So much better than opening a jar! I agree that this sauce ends up being mostly "meat" and less saucy...for me, this was exactly what I have been craving but unable to find in a jar. Do not settle for less, make this sauce! Its worth the little extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States