Spaetzle, Sauerkraut and Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Was completely delicious. I wasn't totally sure about the apple, but oh yes. I didn't make my own spaetzle but rather used some store bought, and mine ended up a little dry, but that very well might have been my fault as the ratios might have been off. So next time I would probably reserve some of the pasta cooking liquid. But totally delicious! I am thinking of including this as a side on Thanksgiving :) Served with wheat beer and hard pretzels with mustard, ah-mazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
For a little added flavor, brown the kielbasa slices with the onion instead of heating in the microwave. Put a teaspoon or so of caraway seeds in with the kraut. Sur Gut!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I was very leary about this dish. I picked it on a whim, and the whole time cooking it doubted it. However.... I was totally wrong and it was a complete hit!!! I used the Cost Plus World Market Spaetzle to save on time, and maybe used too much cause felt it needed more sauce, but something for me to play with. This was delicious all the way through and my boyfriends family and I LOVED IT!! Will definitely making it again! Oh, didn't have a gala apple so use one that looked similar to it (sorry I can't remember the name of it) but it worked just as good! And one more note, I hate sauerkraut, but in this dish... i could eat it all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RitaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I can't wait to try this one. I'm going to used the imported Spaetzle I bought at World Market but I'm sure the homemade is better. Thanks for posting the recipe. Edit: it was good; but a little more bland than I was expecting; you'd think with apples and brown sugar and onions and kraut that there would be an explosion of flavors ; may have to add to it next time. But it was a tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This is DELICIOUS!!! Wonderful! I was just looking for a Kielbasa and Sauerkraut recipe. Made my own home made Sauerkraut last year, so looking to use some up and had some Polish sausage in the freezer, too. Made this, it is excellent! For the first try, I skipped the butter, apple and brown sugar because I was a little unsure about that. I didn't want to go for sweet right away. Now the next time I make this, I will try it with the apple, butter and brown sugar, maybe, because I think the flavors would blend famously! Excellent dish! Really happy I tried it! I will not here the Spaetzle was a new try for me, I have not made Spaetzle before, so I think it turned out but I will try other methods. Like I said, I hadn't made Spaetzle before so not sure what to expect. Just the same, it turned out great and the dinner was a hit with the family!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was pretty yummy, I have another sauerkraut casserole I prefer so I may not make this particular one again, but it is still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I made my own Bavarian style kraut and used a honeycrisp apple instead of a gala. I also browned the kielbasa in the bacon drippings instead of using the microwave. Other than that I followed the recipe pretty close and it turned out great! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
The spaetzle was fun to make, and the kids really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I took this to a potluck and it didn't go over well, but when I tasted it I decided it was okay...more for me! The sauerkraut was a little on the sweet side for my taste, but that is a matter of taste. Otherwise I thought the whole package was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States