Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This is a very easy, quick and tasty meal. I LOVED!!!! It was So quick! I am only 12 and it was easy to make. I made it for my dad's birthday and it was a big hit!!!! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This recipe is really easy and really good! We made this to go with Wendy's Hungarian Goulash. After we boiled the spaetzle, we fried it in a small amount of butter. We didn't have a spaetzle noodle press, so we forced it through a slotted metal spatula, which works fine, but is probably more work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
I tried this recipe out on my grandkids. At first they turned up their noses at something new. But after 1 taste, they came back 2 and 3 times for more. Everyone really enjoyed a break from potatoes. I'll be making this often. I added melted butter and crushed Ritz crackers before serving. Wonderful recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Excellent recipe. Thanks Rhonda. Easy to make and absolutely delicious. I grated some fresh white bread crumbs finely and fried them in some melted butter until lightly browned to serve on top of the cooked spaetzle. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
Yummy! I a German friend of mine uses milk as the liquid instead of water, but I can't tell that much difference. I visited there recently and bought two very inexpensive spaetzle makers--one for short and one for long spaetzle--so it's MUCH easier to cook. I also find that using 1 teaspoon of salt per cup of flour works well (I guess it leaches out into the cooking water somewhat). I'm glad to have this recipe, because my friend just dumps stuff in the bowl without measuring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
I grew up eating Spaetzles as a side dish and still fix them the following way to this day, using this same recipe. After boiling, you melt 4tbls of butter and fry the spaetzles with some onion until lightly browned. It makes this wonderful dish even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: California, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Very east to make and good to eat. Serve fresh from the pot. My German husband and mother in law raved about these. They said they were the best they had ever had. This was my first experience with spaetzle ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This was my first time ever eating Spaetzle never mind making it! I followed the advice of a previous poster and added some nutmeg. They were very tasty...even my picky 8 yr. old daughter liked them. However, it took forever to push them thru a colander. I need to find an easier way! They were perfect with Wendy's Hungarian Goulash. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chez Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
We serve this with Hungarian Goulash and chicken soup. We love it! So far superior to purchased noodles. I've experimented with different ways of making this without a spaetzle press as the colander idea, just doesn't work. So far the best way is to zap carefully in a food processor...just until crumbly. There may still be a few bigger lumps, but do these separately or by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Really Really Good! I can't wait to try these with melted cheese like some other reviewers have suggested. I wish it was easier to find a good spaetzle machine/press. I like the slotted metal spatula idea better than the colander method - the holes are too small in my colander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States