Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Very tasty. Followed the reviewer's suggestion to add nutmeg and it added the perfect flavour I was looking for. Try fried in butter topped with warm saurkraut & gravy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Almost like my Mom's. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This was an easy recipe, and my German boyfriend liked it. I served it with my mom's goulash recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelasunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
By far the easiest spaetzle recipe I have ever used. It turned out 100 times better then Martha Stuarts!! I also don't use the colander or grater, I'm usually in a rush so I cut off small pieces of the dough into the boiling water! My husband loves it and its great with a slow cooked potroast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerri lyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Highland Mills, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
WONDERFUL!!! I made this for my 80-year-old neighbor, whose German wife died 3 years ago. He loaned me her spaetzle maker for the occasion, and then gifted it to me afterward....that's how good the spaetzle was. What a treat! Thanks so very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Muahaha, so I finally made this today. As goulash. But, since I had no noodle maker press thingy, it was incredibly time consuming. So, my only suggestion, if you choose to roll your spaetzle by hand, you start early. Really early. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Really tasty and easy to make.....my family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Korina Magness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This recipe has been in my family for as long as I can remember. Usually eaten with pork roast and applesauce. We use milk instead of water and make the batter early in the day and let it sit on the counter until it's time to cook (usually 5-8 hours) whenever someone walks past the bowl, they have to give it "50 beats!" with the whisk. To make the noodles, we simply pour a pancake sized amount onto a cutting board and with a sharp knife, cut small pieces of batter into the boiling water (dipping the knife in the water avery minute or so to remove any buildup). The next day, we take the leftovers and fry them in a skillet with butter until they're crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
The flavor was as expected but the spaetzle was very chewy. I did not use all the water almost like I was making homemade pasta or pie crust. I do not know what I was thinking but it was a big mistake! It was almost impossible to squeeze out of the ricer. This would have been good if I would have followed the directions. I will definitely make this again the right way! Very good with Hungarian Goulash I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Very good, tasted just like from my favorite German resteraunt. I used a colander with long slits and the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States