Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
By far the easiest spaetzle recipe I have ever used. It turned out 100 times better then Martha Stuarts!! I also don't use the colander or grater, I'm usually in a rush so I cut off small pieces of the dough into the boiling water! My husband loves it and its great with a slow cooked potroast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerri lyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Highland Mills, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
WONDERFUL!!! I made this for my 80-year-old neighbor, whose German wife died 3 years ago. He loaned me her spaetzle maker for the occasion, and then gifted it to me afterward....that's how good the spaetzle was. What a treat! Thanks so very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Muahaha, so I finally made this today. As goulash. But, since I had no noodle maker press thingy, it was incredibly time consuming. So, my only suggestion, if you choose to roll your spaetzle by hand, you start early. Really early. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Really tasty and easy to make.....my family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This recipe has been in my family for as long as I can remember. Usually eaten with pork roast and applesauce. We use milk instead of water and make the batter early in the day and let it sit on the counter until it's time to cook (usually 5-8 hours) whenever someone walks past the bowl, they have to give it "50 beats!" with the whisk. To make the noodles, we simply pour a pancake sized amount onto a cutting board and with a sharp knife, cut small pieces of batter into the boiling water (dipping the knife in the water avery minute or so to remove any buildup). The next day, we take the leftovers and fry them in a skillet with butter until they're crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
The flavor was as expected but the spaetzle was very chewy. I did not use all the water almost like I was making homemade pasta or pie crust. I do not know what I was thinking but it was a big mistake! It was almost impossible to squeeze out of the ricer. This would have been good if I would have followed the directions. I will definitely make this again the right way! Very good with Hungarian Goulash I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Very good, tasted just like from my favorite German resteraunt. I used a colander with long slits and the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
great simple recipe.. i like adding in a tiny pinch of ground nutmeg to mine though for a more authentic taste. (traditional swiss spatzel always has nutmeg in it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grumblebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I have tasted spaetzle before...and this tasted more like egg noodles. True spaetzle has more flavour to it, than this imitation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
You can buy a Spaetzle Dumpling Maker for $5.00 on the internet. Mix the dough (batter) about as thiick as pancake mix. As soon as they float rinse them under cold water to make them firm. Try it with Hungarian Chicken and Dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States