Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I grew up in Bavaria in Germany, and learned a few tricks for making spaetzle. First off, addind a little nutmeg gives the noodles a much better taste. Also, adding a little club soda to them will make them a lot fluffier if that's the texture you're looking for. Lastly, my absolute favourite way of eating these is to melt butter in a pan and fry some onions, then add the noodles and a good portion of grated cheese (cheddar or emantal work wonderfully) and then fry them until the cheese starts browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
581 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I was born to a german mother in Bavaria and married a man who was born to a German mother from Schwaben which is the home of Spaetzle. My mother-in-law made great spaetzle and gave me a press. I tried this receipe and it is excellent and easy. I am submitting my own enhancements which added to the recipe. I added a pinch of nutmeg. I see this mentioned a few times. I recommend it. I used 1/2 c water & 1/4 c milk for the 3/4 c water. I let the dough rest on the counter for 5 hrs before pressing. I also used canned chicken broth instead of plain water to boil the spaetzle in. I was so proud!!! My husband's german cousin also says add a few pats of butter and put in a freezer bag or container and it freezes well, ready to use. The best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I lived in Germany for a number of years and I enjoy spaetzle. Milk was the liquid my German friends always used. Also, I simply use a grater (grating side down) to push the dough through...far easier than a colander and more uniquely shaped than the uniform spaetzle maker. Let the dough rest for 30 minutes after you have added all the ingredients so that the gluten can "relax". Good eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
I grew up eating Spaetzles as a side dish and still fix them the following way to this day, using this same recipe. After boiling, you melt 4tbls of butter and fry the spaetzles with some onion until lightly browned. It makes this wonderful dish even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: California, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I'm orig. from Germany and come from the main "Spaetzle territory - Schwaben". This is the correct recipe, only you form a more stiff dough to make the Spaetzle rubbery, as my husband calls them. Most Schwaebians use all eggs instead of adding water, which will make them "rubbery". This depends on once taste if you want either the soft or the rubbery noodles. Either one is very good. Leftover Spaetzle can be fried in butter and scramble eggs into the noodles as they fry. Add some additional salt to season. I always add some cubed ham to it. Serve with fresh salads for a meal. Now that's authentic. P.S. Use a Spaetzle press or a Spaetzle Brett (you shave the spaetzle by hand in very thin strips and dip the cutter in the water every few cuts). Very time consuming if you are not used to it. You can get an authentic press, but they are not cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This is a very easy, quick and tasty meal. I LOVED!!!! It was So quick! I am only 12 and it was easy to make. I made it for my dad's birthday and it was a big hit!!!! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
These came out very well and tasty-and I didn't even use a spaetzle maker or the colander technique-rather I just broke off mounds of dough, and made dumplings. Following a past review, I added salt, pepper, and some nutmeg. Very good taste, and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This is a very good spaetzle recipe. I use milk instead of water. Many of the reviews list a spaetze maker. If you can find one, they are very expensive. However, you can find a "potato ricer" at Wal-Mart for about $15.00. It looks and works just like the spaetzle maker my mother bought when we lived in Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
Yummy! I a German friend of mine uses milk as the liquid instead of water, but I can't tell that much difference. I visited there recently and bought two very inexpensive spaetzle makers--one for short and one for long spaetzle--so it's MUCH easier to cook. I also find that using 1 teaspoon of salt per cup of flour works well (I guess it leaches out into the cooking water somewhat). I'm glad to have this recipe, because my friend just dumps stuff in the bowl without measuring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
I tried this recipe out on my grandkids. At first they turned up their noses at something new. But after 1 taste, they came back 2 and 3 times for more. Everyone really enjoyed a break from potatoes. I'll be making this often. I added melted butter and crushed Ritz crackers before serving. Wonderful recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States