Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This was not exactly as I remember this dish served in Germany, but it was certainly tasty! We made kaesespaetzle by sauteeing some onions and then baking the noodles with some Emmentaler cheese and the onions on top - turned out GREAT! The leftover noodles were also good with stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This was my first time ever eating Spaetzle never mind making it! I followed the advice of a previous poster and added some nutmeg. They were very tasty...even my picky 8 yr. old daughter liked them. However, it took forever to push them thru a colander. I need to find an easier way! They were perfect with Wendy's Hungarian Goulash. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chez Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I lived in Germany for a number of years and I enjoy spaetzle. Milk was the liquid my German friends always used. Also, I simply use a grater (grating side down) to push the dough through...far easier than a colander and more uniquely shaped than the uniform spaetzle maker. Let the dough rest for 30 minutes after you have added all the ingredients so that the gluten can "relax". Good eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
These came out very well and tasty-and I didn't even use a spaetzle maker or the colander technique-rather I just broke off mounds of dough, and made dumplings. Following a past review, I added salt, pepper, and some nutmeg. Very good taste, and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
Yummy! I a German friend of mine uses milk as the liquid instead of water, but I can't tell that much difference. I visited there recently and bought two very inexpensive spaetzle makers--one for short and one for long spaetzle--so it's MUCH easier to cook. I also find that using 1 teaspoon of salt per cup of flour works well (I guess it leaches out into the cooking water somewhat). I'm glad to have this recipe, because my friend just dumps stuff in the bowl without measuring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This is a very easy, quick and tasty meal. I LOVED!!!! It was So quick! I am only 12 and it was easy to make. I made it for my dad's birthday and it was a big hit!!!! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Very east to make and good to eat. Serve fresh from the pot. My German husband and mother in law raved about these. They said they were the best they had ever had. This was my first experience with spaetzle ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
This was a good recipe, however, to put the noodle mixture through the colander was not the easiest thing to do. I ended up using my cookie press, and it worked okay. Maybe next time I will see about using a ricer (I don't have one currently.) Using the press, the noodles were a bit thicker and more dumpling like, but they were still good with the Hungarian Ghoulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
I tried this recipe out on my grandkids. At first they turned up their noses at something new. But after 1 taste, they came back 2 and 3 times for more. Everyone really enjoyed a break from potatoes. I'll be making this often. I added melted butter and crushed Ritz crackers before serving. Wonderful recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I grew up in Bavaria in Germany, and learned a few tricks for making spaetzle. First off, addind a little nutmeg gives the noodles a much better taste. Also, adding a little club soda to them will make them a lot fluffier if that's the texture you're looking for. Lastly, my absolute favourite way of eating these is to melt butter in a pan and fry some onions, then add the noodles and a good portion of grated cheese (cheddar or emantal work wonderfully) and then fry them until the cheese starts browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
578 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States