Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
great simple recipe.. i like adding in a tiny pinch of ground nutmeg to mine though for a more authentic taste. (traditional swiss spatzel always has nutmeg in it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grumblebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I have tasted spaetzle before...and this tasted more like egg noodles. True spaetzle has more flavour to it, than this imitation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
You can buy a Spaetzle Dumpling Maker for $5.00 on the internet. Mix the dough (batter) about as thiick as pancake mix. As soon as they float rinse them under cold water to make them firm. Try it with Hungarian Chicken and Dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I love these noodles with anything with gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
my fault they were chewy-i had to roll them out with my hands and mostly all too fat-i tried all of my other options not having a noodle press unsuccessfully-will get the the ricer at walmart and attempt again. my husband still ate all of them under meatballs and beef gravy they just were not the spaetzle we have had in Germany over the last four years-i take total blame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I've always wondered what these were, and I finally found out!! There was this old lady at my church that used to make her chicken and noodles with these, and I loved them, but never knew how she did it. It always had so much flavor and color. I finally found out it was the wonderful spaetzle that made it so wonderful and different. Thank you so much Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This is a very good spaetzle recipe. I use milk instead of water. Many of the reviews list a spaetze maker. If you can find one, they are very expensive. However, you can find a "potato ricer" at Wal-Mart for about $15.00. It looks and works just like the spaetzle maker my mother bought when we lived in Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylors, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This was delicious, but incredibly difficult to make without a spaetzle maker. The dough was really sticky, and half of the noodles were done before I'd even added the other half. Pushing the dough through a colander just resulted in a sticky mess. So I think I'll just splurge and buy a spaetzle maker, because spaetzle is just so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This wasn't the best... When I lived in Austria, we had Spaetzle a lot, and I've made it a few times since I've come home without a problem. I misplaced the other recipe though so decided to try this one... I'm not sure why, but I think there's too many eggs in it or something (I increased the recipe) because it made me think of scrambled eggs!! Also, to make Kaese Spaetzle, all you have to do is mix the Spaetzle up with a beaten egg, salt, pepper, and the grated cheese of your choice (ham, broccoli, onions, etc mixed in in addition to the cheese is good, too) and put it in a greased casserole dish and bake it for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Excellent recipe. Thanks Rhonda. Easy to make and absolutely delicious. I grated some fresh white bread crumbs finely and fried them in some melted butter until lightly browned to serve on top of the cooked spaetzle. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States