Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I enjoyed the finished product after I fried it and dressed it with browned butter and garlic powder. The dough was a little difficult to work with, but the messiness of it all was fun. I served it with Smothered Pork Chops and Green Bean Bundles of Joy from this site. It was a delish German feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I used the suggestion from another reviewer of replacing the water with milk. Tastes exactly as I remember spaetzle from my favorite restaurant tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megnrn
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Excellent, but only 4 stars because there is no way this dough was going through a colander(I tried 5 different ones). I used a garlic press. I would love to know to get it through the stainer, even the grater didn't work for me. I guess i hae to get that spaetzle press. There was a ton dough, I only made half which filled up a large bowl. I did let the dough rest for a few hours and used a combo of water and milk, and added nut meg. Once the water was really boiling the pasta floated almost instantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very good dumpling. Used with the IRISH CHICKEN AND DUMPLINGS. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These came out delicious, but I can't give it 5 stars because the method in the directions (pressing the dough through a colander) didn't work at all. Either the consistency is wrong (maybe it needs more water? I used the amount in the recipe), or you really need a special tool like a spaetzle maker. I tried a cheese grater as recommended by other reviewers, but that was an even bigger disaster. I ended up breaking off small pieces with my fingers (dipped in olive oil). It took a while, but it was delicious when it was done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I was born to a german mother in Bavaria and married a man who was born to a German mother from Schwaben which is the home of Spaetzle. My mother-in-law made great spaetzle and gave me a press. I tried this receipe and it is excellent and easy. I am submitting my own enhancements which added to the recipe. I added a pinch of nutmeg. I see this mentioned a few times. I recommend it. I used 1/2 c water & 1/4 c milk for the 3/4 c water. I let the dough rest on the counter for 5 hrs before pressing. I also used canned chicken broth instead of plain water to boil the spaetzle in. I was so proud!!! My husband's german cousin also says add a few pats of butter and put in a freezer bag or container and it freezes well, ready to use. The best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Definitely benefits from the addition of nutmeg, salt and pepper. I served these with green beans and sauteed onion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I'm orig. from Germany and come from the main "Spaetzle territory - Schwaben". This is the correct recipe, only you form a more stiff dough to make the Spaetzle rubbery, as my husband calls them. Most Schwaebians use all eggs instead of adding water, which will make them "rubbery". This depends on once taste if you want either the soft or the rubbery noodles. Either one is very good. Leftover Spaetzle can be fried in butter and scramble eggs into the noodles as they fry. Add some additional salt to season. I always add some cubed ham to it. Serve with fresh salads for a meal. Now that's authentic. P.S. Use a Spaetzle press or a Spaetzle Brett (you shave the spaetzle by hand in very thin strips and dip the cutter in the water every few cuts). Very time consuming if you are not used to it. You can get an authentic press, but they are not cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
my mother used to make this and just dropped them in like dumplings to our chicken noodle soup. we called it chicken noodle soup with lumps. was my favorite when i was sick (and still is). the only difference was she used milk instead of water like some others have suggested. two thumbs up from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Hooks
Home Town: Wattsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Very tasty. Followed the reviewer's suggestion to add nutmeg and it added the perfect flavour I was looking for. Try fried in butter topped with warm saurkraut & gravy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States