Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is a great starter recipe. I wanted a richer recipe so I substituted milk for the water, added a couple dashes of nutmeg, 2 tablespoons of butter for the spaetzle, and I used 1/2 chicken stock and 1/2 water for the cooking water. I didn't have any luck with the grater or collander method suggested. Instead I went old school on my spaetzle; I left the dough in a mound on a cutting board and held the board in my left arm while slicing off thin strips of dough with a large knife. I'd just use the knife to slide them off into the boiling water. It turned out amazing and was a perfect pairing with our St.Moritz schnitzel and sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I use 1 cup of milk instead of the water, and tend to let them sit for awhile, stirring occasionally, before cooking. I *love* these -- I usually serve them with (like tonight) my mom's Chicken Paprikash, or some type of stroganoff. My kids will eat them just with butter. :) Also, these freeze wonderfully -- just butter them up a bit, then put in a freezer zip-top bag. It's great when the hard work of getting the rubbery dough through the spaetzle press makes TWO meals instead of one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Thank you so much, Rhonda, for this simple Spaetzle recipe! It is very good and very easy. I can't imagine, though, doing this without a "ricer"! I always wondered what I would eventually use that ricer for that I bought so cheap!! ;) Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittySerbia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Absolutely Fabulous!I made dough and added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and it took a little extra water to get all dry wet. Left set on counter for about 6 hours and then made. Dough works very well. Keep knife and board wet for ease of handling. This makes enough to easily feed the family of 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I've never eaten this before, but I found it to be quite bland. After making the dough, I really couldn't envision it being pressed through a colander or grated on a cheese grater, as another reviewer suggested. I ended up putting it in a gal. bag, cutting out a corner, and squeezing it into the water. But the dough was so sticky, it wouldn't break off, so I sprayed scissors with Pam and cut off pieces as DH squeezed it out of the bag. I think they ended up being too big, about the size of quarters. I served it with Bavarian Pot Roast from this site, and it wasn't too bad covered with the gravy from the roast. I think we just like spicier food. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Very good recipe. I let my dough rest for 2 hours and then pressed through a spaetzle press. It is definitely a serious upper body work out to get the dough through the small holes!! I added nutmeg to the dough too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Mmmmmmm...made these with Simple Beef Stroganoff. So good and easy! Next time I will try nutmeg. I wasn't able to squeeze the dough through colander holes, so I just pulled off little pieces and popped them in the boiling water. Thank you for a yummy dumpling recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Made this a while ago- but I followed the driections exactly. They were so good! I just served them with gravy. I'd never made spaetzle before, but they were easier than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kasijo
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Cut the recipe in half - 2 scant cups of flour and almost 3 beaten eggs. Texture was PERFECT! Cooked them in a basic chicken soup. Way better than regular noodles. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This recipe is so delicious.. I learned to make this in culinary school. If you add asiago cheese, it's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States