Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
My family is German, so we love spaetzle! This recipe worked very well for me...the only problem was that it was way too thick. I ended up adding about 1/4 cup or so of extra water to the mix, and then it was perfect. I stirred in some melted butter, and my family loved it. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Awesome side dish for Jagerschnitzle. I went out and bought a Spaetzle press after the first time making it as using the chef's knife and cutting board was a major pain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
my noodles were raw from the inside even after cooking for 10 min! maybe it was just me but this recipe just didnt do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Very easy and delicious recipe! I tried to improvise with a colander for pressing the noodles as one reviewer suggested, but ended up getting a spaetzle press, which made things much easier. Definitely invest in a spaetzle press if you don't have one. I follow another reviewer's suggestion to saute the finished spaetzle with butter, chopped onions, and cheddar cheese-- delicious every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My family has made homemade egg noodles for generations using a very similar recipe, rolling out the dough and letting it dry and cutting it into strips. This is SO much quicker, and tastes just the same! People who were having trouble pressing it through a colander were probably trying to use one with small holes. The one I used has holes a little less than 1/4 inch. The only trouble I had was the steam from the boiling broth scorching my fingers. I may invest in a spaetzle press, since they're only $10 at Amazon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
They were ok. Some members of my family liked them more than others. We served this with Jagerschnitzel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This is a very authentic recipe. I am very happy with it. I did let it sit out like others recommened which I do not think was a good idea. My noodles were very small and I wish they had been longer. I did use a spaetzle maker that I purchased from Amazon for less than $10 which I don't know how I would have made this without it. I will be making this often. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Lemke Nugent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I had a really hard time getting the dough to go thru the colander. Eventually, I ended up putting the top of my broiler pan, that has 1/4 inch holes all over it, on top of the stock pot with half volume of water, half of chicken stock. I had to really press and scrape the dough. It might be because I overworked the dough when I was mixing it. Or it could be because I let it sit for about an hour before pressing it. I served it with this recipe on top and it was really tasty. I also used milk and added pepper and nutmeg to the dough. I'd say, add a full 1/2 tsp of nutmeg because when I tried it without the cabbage, I couldn't even taste the 1/4 tsp I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by addycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Used skim milk instead of water. Easy to cook but hard to press through a cutter. Thought it might be easier shoeing a horse or pulling out tree stumps. But worth the effort! The recipe for four is just right if you eat like eight people do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon J.
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
My 8 yr old and I had a blast making this together. It was pretty good. We also made mini meatballs and tossed the Spaetzle with mushrooms, onions, and meatballs. We made a beefy sour cream sauce for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States