Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
I grew up eating Spaetzles as a side dish and still fix them the following way to this day, using this same recipe. After boiling, you melt 4tbls of butter and fry the spaetzles with some onion until lightly browned. It makes this wonderful dish even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: California, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This recipe is really easy and really good! We made this to go with Wendy's Hungarian Goulash. After we boiled the spaetzle, we fried it in a small amount of butter. We didn't have a spaetzle noodle press, so we forced it through a slotted metal spatula, which works fine, but is probably more work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I grew up in Bavaria in Germany, and learned a few tricks for making spaetzle. First off, addind a little nutmeg gives the noodles a much better taste. Also, adding a little club soda to them will make them a lot fluffier if that's the texture you're looking for. Lastly, my absolute favourite way of eating these is to melt butter in a pan and fry some onions, then add the noodles and a good portion of grated cheese (cheddar or emantal work wonderfully) and then fry them until the cheese starts browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
574 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
I tried this recipe out on my grandkids. At first they turned up their noses at something new. But after 1 taste, they came back 2 and 3 times for more. Everyone really enjoyed a break from potatoes. I'll be making this often. I added melted butter and crushed Ritz crackers before serving. Wonderful recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
This was a good recipe, however, to put the noodle mixture through the colander was not the easiest thing to do. I ended up using my cookie press, and it worked okay. Maybe next time I will see about using a ricer (I don't have one currently.) Using the press, the noodles were a bit thicker and more dumpling like, but they were still good with the Hungarian Ghoulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Very east to make and good to eat. Serve fresh from the pot. My German husband and mother in law raved about these. They said they were the best they had ever had. This was my first experience with spaetzle ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This is a very easy, quick and tasty meal. I LOVED!!!! It was So quick! I am only 12 and it was easy to make. I made it for my dad's birthday and it was a big hit!!!! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
Yummy! I a German friend of mine uses milk as the liquid instead of water, but I can't tell that much difference. I visited there recently and bought two very inexpensive spaetzle makers--one for short and one for long spaetzle--so it's MUCH easier to cook. I also find that using 1 teaspoon of salt per cup of flour works well (I guess it leaches out into the cooking water somewhat). I'm glad to have this recipe, because my friend just dumps stuff in the bowl without measuring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
These came out very well and tasty-and I didn't even use a spaetzle maker or the colander technique-rather I just broke off mounds of dough, and made dumplings. Following a past review, I added salt, pepper, and some nutmeg. Very good taste, and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I lived in Germany for a number of years and I enjoy spaetzle. Milk was the liquid my German friends always used. Also, I simply use a grater (grating side down) to push the dough through...far easier than a colander and more uniquely shaped than the uniform spaetzle maker. Let the dough rest for 30 minutes after you have added all the ingredients so that the gluten can "relax". Good eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States