Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
my fault they were chewy-i had to roll them out with my hands and mostly all too fat-i tried all of my other options not having a noodle press unsuccessfully-will get the the ricer at walmart and attempt again. my husband still ate all of them under meatballs and beef gravy they just were not the spaetzle we have had in Germany over the last four years-i take total blame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I've always wondered what these were, and I finally found out!! There was this old lady at my church that used to make her chicken and noodles with these, and I loved them, but never knew how she did it. It always had so much flavor and color. I finally found out it was the wonderful spaetzle that made it so wonderful and different. Thank you so much Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This is a very good spaetzle recipe. I use milk instead of water. Many of the reviews list a spaetze maker. If you can find one, they are very expensive. However, you can find a "potato ricer" at Wal-Mart for about $15.00. It looks and works just like the spaetzle maker my mother bought when we lived in Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylors, South Carolina, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This was delicious, but incredibly difficult to make without a spaetzle maker. The dough was really sticky, and half of the noodles were done before I'd even added the other half. Pushing the dough through a colander just resulted in a sticky mess. So I think I'll just splurge and buy a spaetzle maker, because spaetzle is just so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This wasn't the best... When I lived in Austria, we had Spaetzle a lot, and I've made it a few times since I've come home without a problem. I misplaced the other recipe though so decided to try this one... I'm not sure why, but I think there's too many eggs in it or something (I increased the recipe) because it made me think of scrambled eggs!! Also, to make Kaese Spaetzle, all you have to do is mix the Spaetzle up with a beaten egg, salt, pepper, and the grated cheese of your choice (ham, broccoli, onions, etc mixed in in addition to the cheese is good, too) and put it in a greased casserole dish and bake it for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Excellent recipe. Thanks Rhonda. Easy to make and absolutely delicious. I grated some fresh white bread crumbs finely and fried them in some melted butter until lightly browned to serve on top of the cooked spaetzle. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Really Really Good! I can't wait to try these with melted cheese like some other reviewers have suggested. I wish it was easier to find a good spaetzle machine/press. I like the slotted metal spatula idea better than the colander method - the holes are too small in my colander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
We serve this with Hungarian Goulash and chicken soup. We love it! So far superior to purchased noodles. I've experimented with different ways of making this without a spaetzle press as the colander idea, just doesn't work. So far the best way is to zap carefully in a food processor...just until crumbly. There may still be a few bigger lumps, but do these separately or by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Tasted rubbery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This was not exactly as I remember this dish served in Germany, but it was certainly tasty! We made kaesespaetzle by sauteeing some onions and then baking the noodles with some Emmentaler cheese and the onions on top - turned out GREAT! The leftover noodles were also good with stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States