Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is the Spaetzle recipe I've been looking for! They are all so different, but this is the combination/ratio of ingredients I've been trying to hit on. I did use milk instead of water and upped it to 1 c. Also added 1/8 tsp of nutmeg. I have a spaetzle press, but it's so hard to clean that I prefer the method I learned from my BF's mother, who was born in Germany. Spoon some batter onto a wet cutting board, and with a wet knife, cut off narrow pieces and slide them off the board into the boiling water. Use a slotted spoon to remove the first batch of spaetzle from the water before spooning more onto the cutting board. This makes bigger dumpling-style noodles, but it's much easier than messing with a press, colander or whatever and the cleanup is a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
i must of not made it right tried to 1/2 recipe .. was sticky dough so had a hard time cutting into smaller pieces ended up with large pieces .. will try again but found it a bit heavy.. made with veal cutlets and asparagus.. and home made gravy.. will give it another try and hopefully will come out better.. my family found it a bit heavy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Quick, easy, and turned out great! My potato ricer has a "noodle" disk with 1/4-inch holes, and it was ideal for this. Whenever I made spaetzle in the past, I started with two or three eggs in a bowl, added a few glugs of water, and mixed in flour and salt - never measuring anything - and the results were pretty poor. Turns out I was making the dough too thin. This was *so* much better! Avoid overcrowding the pot, toss with butter after cooking to avoid sticking, and enjoy. This time, we ate it with paprikash, but next time, I think I'll serve it with sausage and sauerkraut. So versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I added the nutmeg as other reviewers suggested. It added just the right touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Idk if I did something wrong, but I couldn't get it to push through anything! The flavor was fine.(I tediously pinched off tiny bits) Is the dough supposed to be dry or runny? This was my first attempt at making this, so I'm def going to try the recipe again, but hope to either find a cheap spaetzle maker, or beg my German gma to show me how she does it next time I see her. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
These taste great, but I couldn't push them through a strainer or a grater so I patted the dough flat, sliced it into thin strips and cut off little pieces which I dusted with flour, placed in a colander to shake off excess flour, and put them into boiling water and boiled them until they rose to the top. I will not make them again because of this problem, but if you can make it work, they have a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I will never eat packaged again. So super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I had a very difficult time getting it to pass through the colander so I instead snipped it into small pieces. While it didn't look like spaetzle, the taste was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLEHNIG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Best Spaetzle recipe yet! Ive used them all here and this is BY FAR the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sodus, New York, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
the reviewers who spoke of frying these in butter with onions reminds me of a polish noodle dish my family makes. we know them as poluski (i'm sure my spelling is off). the dumplings a slightly larger but prepared much the same way. the easiest way is to hold the bowl with the batter over the pot of boiling water and while "pouring" slowly use a knife to cut the dumplings along the edge of the bowl. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States