Spaetzle and Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This soup reminds me of good old fashioned chicken soup. I had never made spaetzle before in my life, but it was so easy I did add 1 tsp oil a tip an old German friend gave me and used a spaetzle maker which you put right over the pot and press the dough thru it came out beautiful. Everyone raved about it and want me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I was so excited to see this recipe as it is rather rare to see German recipes. I am from Germany and brought my "Spaetzle Hobler" (grater) with me from there. However, your recipe is just fine. I never made the chicken soup until I saw your recipe and it did not disapoint. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augsburg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alison Walker Milligan
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Used dried Spaetzle noodles from the German butcher and it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Very good recipe. I kept the onions and celery in the soup, though as I like lots of vegetables and even added mushrooms and some fresh spinach. Mmmm, smelled like my grandma's house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Needs: Rosemary, sage, thyme and chicken bouillon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I actually cheated a lot and made the herbed dumplings from this site instead of the spaetzle. :P The five stars is for the soup itself, which was phenomenal! I used a package of chicken thighs with bones (skin on) and boiled them with the vegetables and seasonings for about an hour. Then I picked all the meat off the bones (and gave some to my dogs, which they loved) and strained the broth. Put the meat and broth back in, and made up the dumplings. Tasted awesome. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Farmington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Shortcut on noodles and chicken - For a shortcut on the chicken and a boost of flavor...pick up an already cooked rotisserie chicken at the store, boil in place of raw chicken about 20 minutes. Proceed with recipe. Shortcut on noodles - mix dough in bowl without water, and drop by the teaspoon-full into boiling broth. After dropping each "dumpling" in make sure you dip spoon into broth to dampen it before scooping another "dumpling" out of the mixing bowl. Was stunned to find this recipe. We've been making this many years, originally learned from our grandma, and we could eat it daily as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Fantastic. I took the advice of another reviewer and looked up how to make spaetzle. I went one step further (like they did on You Tube) and sauteed the spaetzle in a little butter and one slice of bacon. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
So, my boyfriend loved this recipe! Said the spaetzle was very close to the real thing (he lived in Germany for a few years). I however wasn't all that impressed with the spaetzle recipe. It wasn't bad mind you, just not like I've had before. The soup however was outstanding! Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
We call this Hunky Soup. The spaetzle batter we make is slightly thinner and won't make a ball but the concept and ingredients are the same. Wonderful addition to soup instead of noodles. Makes for a heartier meal! We also leave the celery in the soup for more vitamins(?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States